DEPENDENT TERRITORIES

V

Introduction

The responsibilities of the United Nations for dependent territories, both trust territories and other non-self-governing territories (colonies), are set forth in chapters XI and XII of the Charter. Under chapter XI, member states that administer territories whose peoples have not yet attained a full measure of self-government "recognize the principle that the interests of the inhabitants of these territories are paramount, and accept as a sacred trust the obligation to promote to the utmost . . . the well-being of the inhabitants of these territories." The administering states agree, under Article 73(e) of the Charter, to transmit regularly to the Secretary-General for information purposes, statistical and other information of a technical nature relating to economic, social and educational conditions in the territories for which they are responsible. No organ was established by this chapter to deal with the information thus submitted, but in 1949 the General Assembly appointed a Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories to examine the information contained in the reports of the administering states. This Committee, composed of ten members administering non-self-governing territories and seven non-administering members, was originally established on an ad hoc basis but has had its term renewed for successive three-year periods.

Chapter XII of the Charter established the International Trusteeship System for the administration and supervision of such territories as might be placed thereunder by individual agreements. The basic objectives of this system are set out in Article 76; they include the promotion of the political, economic, social and educational advancement of the inhabitants of the trust territories, and "their progressive development towards self-government or independence". In 1946 eleven territories, some of them former mandated territories under the League of Nations, were placed under individual trusteeship agreements. These territories, with the member state responsible for their administration, were Tanganyika, the Cameroons and Togoland—the United Kingdom; the Cameroons and Togoland—France; Ruanda-Urundi— Belgium; Somaliland—Italy; New Guinea and Nauru—Australia; Western Samoa—New Zealand; and the trust territory of the Pacific Islands, administered by the United States.

In 1957 that part of Togoland under the administration of the United Kingdom became an integral part of Ghana, after a plebiscite under United Nations supervision had shown that this was the desire of the inhabitants of the territory. During 1959 two administering states, France and Italy, announced that their trusteeship responsibilities would end when the states of Cameroon, Togo and Somalia attained independence in 1960; the United Kingdom announced that the inhabitants of those parts of the Cameroons for which it was responsible would be consulted concerning their political future late in 1959 and early in 1961; a provisional timetable of development leading to independence for Western Samoa in 1961 or early in 1962 was announced by New Zealand.