During recent years, the darkening international scene has led to increasing cooperation in defence between the two countries. This has taken the form of standardization of equipment and operational procedures, the conduct of joint exercises and the establishment of a number of installations for joint defence. In making the necessary arrangements for these joint undertakings, the Board has played an active role.

In all these matters, the PJBD has helped further the application of the basic principles of co-operation to each situation as it has arisen. Through the years it has built up an impressive record of service and is held in high esteem both by the diplomatic and defence arms of the Governments of the two countries. It has truly earned the title of "Permanent" bestowed upon it by its far-seeing founders.

Present Membership

The present membership of the Board includes:

General McNaughton as Chairman of the Canadian Section;

Rear Admiral H. G. DeWolf, Canadian Naval member;

Major General H. A. Sparling, Canadian Army member;

Air Vice Marshal F. R. Miller, Canadian Air Force member;

Dr. R. A. MacKay, member from the Department of External Affairs.

Major General Guy V. Henry is Chairman of the United States Section.

Major General J. L. McKee is U.S. Army member;

Rear Admiral M. E. Miles, the U.S. Navy member;

Major General R. L. Walsh, the U.S. Air Force member;

Mr. A. F. Peterson, the U.S. Department of State member.

Mr. W. H. Barton, of the Department of External Affairs, is the Canadian Secretary.

Mr. W. L. Wight, of the Department of State, is the U.S. Secretary.