disposition and choice, firm when firmness is necessary, inflexible where the rules of the Church are in question, a strength to the zealous, an encouragement to the timid, and immovably just to all, he has won from the priests and people of his diocese the repute of being an ideal prelate.

The Archdiocese of Toronto

The original limits of the Diocese of Toronto were defined officially as follows: West of Newcastle, from Lake Ontario to Lake Muskoka, thence by a line direct north-west through Lakes Moon and Muskoka to western branch of Two Rivers, emptying into the Ottawa; all west of that, including Lake Superior district. This embraced the counties west of Durham and all the districts of Muskoka, Parry Sound, Algoma and the rest of that territory now forming the northern boundary of the Diocese of Peterborough. When, in 1856, Hamilton and London were erected into dioceses, all west of the county of Peel and north of the county of Simcoe, except the counties of Lincoln and Welland, on the Niagara Peninsula, was taken from Toronto. Thenceforth the limits of Toronto Diocese comprised the counties of Ontario, York, Peel, Lincoln, Welland, Simcoe and Cardwell. In all, there are fortysix parishes in the diocese, which are divided into three deaneries— Toronto, St. Catharines and Barrie.

The former Bishops of Toronto were the Right Rev. Michael Power, D.D., who was consecrated May 8th, 1842; died Oct. 18t, 1847. The Right Rev. Bishop Charbonnell, D.D., who was consecrated May 26th, 1850; resigned April 26th, 1860, and was made Titular Bishop of Sozopolis and Archbishop in 1881; died in France, March 25th, 1891. The Most Rev. John Joseph Lynch. D.D., consecrated Nov. 20th, 1859, Coadjutor Bishop of Toronto; succeeded to See of Toronto, April 26th, 1860; first Archbishop of Toronto, March 18th, 1870; died May 12th, 1888. The Most Rev. John Walsh, D.D., consecrated Bishop of Sandwich, Nov. 10th, 1867; transferred to London, Ont., Oct. 3rd, 1869; transferred to Archdiocese of Toronto, July 25th, 1889; died July 31st, 1898.

After the death of Archbishop Walsh, the Holy See appointed the Very Rev. Jos. J. McCann as Administrator over the vacant See until the appointment of the present Archbishop, the Most Rev. Denis O'Connor, D.D., who was consecrated Bishop of London, Ont., on the 19th of October, 1890, and thence transferred to Toronto, April, 1899.

Clergy, Churches, Missions and Schools.

CITY OF TORONTO.

ST. MICHAEL'S CATHEDRAL, CHURCH STREET.—Rev. Frank Ryan, Rector; Rev. F. F. Rohleder, Chancellor; Rev. J. P. Treacy, D.D., and Rev. Father Mealy.

Schools.—For boys. Three Brothers of the Christian Schools, boys 150. Sisters of Loretto; boys 150. For girls. Sisters of Loretto; girls 165.