The Committee resumed consideration of a draft report.

At 5:55 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned until later this day.

## **EVENING SITTING**

(8)

The Special Joint Committee on the Process for amending the Constitution of Canada met *in camera* at 7:25 o'clock p.m. this day, in Room 536, Wellington Building, the Joint Chairmen, the Honourable Senator Gérald Beaudoin and Jim Edwards, presiding.

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Gérald Beaudoin, Gérald Comeau and Philippe Gigantès.

Representing the House of Commons: Ken Atkinson, Gabrielle Bertrand, Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Coline Campbell, Ronald Duhamel, Jim Edwards, Lynn Hunter, Wilton Littlechild, Rob Nicholson, Lorne Nystrom, André Ouellet and Ross Reid.

Other Member present: Shirley Maheu.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Daniel Dupras and Jack Stilborn, Research Officers.

Pursuant to its Orders of Reference dated Monday, December 17, 1990, Wednesday, January 30, 1991, Wednesday, May 15, 1991, Friday, May 17, 1991 and Wednesday, May 22, 1991, the Committee resumed its study of the process for amending the Constitution of Canada (see Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, February 5, 1991, Issue No. 1).

The Committee resumed consideration of a draft report.

At 9:15 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

## WEDNESDAY, MAY 29, 1991 (9)

The Special Joint Committee on the Process for amending the Constitution of Canada met *in camera* at 4:25 o'clock p.m. this day, in Room 536, Wellington Building, the Joint Chairmen, the Honourable Senator Gérald Beaudoin and Jim Edwards, presiding.

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Gérald Beaudoin, Gérald Comeau, Philippe Gigantès, Michael Kirby and Nathan Nurgitz.

Representing the House of Commons: Ken Atkinson, Gabrielle Bertrand, Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Coline Campbell, Jim Edwards, Lynn Hunter, Wilton Littlechild, Rob Nicholson, Lorne Nystrom, André Ouellet and Ross Reid.

Other Member present: Shirley Maheu.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Daniel Dupras and Jack Stilborn, Research Officers.