LONDON, August 1986

Nassau was followed by a mini-CHOGM held in London. At this meeting, with the exception of the United Kingdom, all governments present (Canada, Australia, Bahamas, India, Zambia and Zimbabwe) agreed to a further list of measures. These included bans on new investment in South Africa, promotion of tourism to South Africa and the import of agricultural products, uranium, coal, iron and steel from South Africa.

Canadian Response:

Canada went even further, announcing that no government contracts would henceforth be entered into with majority-owned South African companies, the voluntary ban on new bank loans to South Africa would be extended to the private as well as the public sector and consular facilities in South Africa would be withdrawn.

VANCOUVER, October 1987

The year between the London mini-CHOGM and the Vancouver Summit was marked by increased repression in South Africa under a State of Emergency. Internationally, a≤tion was taken across a wide front: the US Comprehensive Anti-Apartheid Act was enacted in October 1986; EEC sanctions were announced in September 1986; and the Nordic countries brought in a near total boycott in December.

The Commonwealth Heads meeting in Vancouver resulted in the Okanagan Statement and Programme of Action on Southern Africa. It reaffirmed the Commonwealth's determination that apartheid must be dismantled if even greater human tragedy was to be averted. Heads of Government did not propose new sanctions but, with the exception of Britain, agreed that the "wider, tighter and more intensified application" of sanctions must remain an essential part of the international community's response to apartheid. The CHOGM also initiated the Committee of Foreign Ministers on Southern Africa (CFM), composed of the Foreign Ministers of Canada, Australia, Guyana, India, Nigeria, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and chaired by Joe Clark.

Canadian Response:

The Okanagan Statement as well as the CFM were Canadian initiatives.