term were made, the following being chosen: W. F. Lemon, Ayimer, Ont., the holder last year of the George Brown memorial scholarship; J. A. Kinnear, Toronto; G. S. Strathy, for the past year house surgeon at the Sick Children's Hospital; C. E. Spence, Toronto; H. Glendinning, Valentine, Ont., and A. W. Beattie, Pond Mill, Ont., a graduate of the Medical College of the Western University, London, and the only outsider who was an applicant.

University Governors Appoint Five Trustees to General Hospital Board.—The Board of Governors of the University of Toronto met for the first time in the senate chamber on June 30th for reorganization purposes. Sixteen members were present. Chief Justice Charles Moss was elected vice-chairman of the Board. The Board exercised its right to the appointment of five trustees The appointed are: John Hoskin, to the General Hospital. LL.D.; Rev. J. A. Macdonald; Prof. James Loudon; Byron E. Walker, LL.D.; W. T. White. An interim executive committee of eight members was appointed. Three minor committees were also appointed each of which will lapse as its work is reported. It was decided that every member of the Board should be notified prior to each session of the Executive Committee. The reason for not making this committee permanent is because of the anticipated absence of several of its members during the next two months.

Distribution of Liege Exhibition Awards.—The Awards to the British Section of the recent Liege Exhibition were distributed on June 13th. The proceedings took place at the Mansion House, and the Lord Mayor, Alderman W. Vaughan Morgan, occupied the chair. Mr. Imre Kiralfy, the British Commissioner-General, read a report upon the Exhibition, and the meeting was subsequently addressed by the Belgian Minister, Count de Lalaing, Sir Albert Rollit, M. Edouard Seve, Sir William Holland, and the Lord Mayor. The diplomas were then presented by Count de Lalaing. A notable feature of the ceremony was the receipt by Burroughs Wellcome & Co., of five awards of Grand Prix, three Diplomas of Honor, three Gold Medals and one Silver Medal.

New University Board.—New University Board of Governors selected by the Ontario Cabinet are as follows: For two years' term—Dr. John Hoskin, K. C., Chairman; Hon. S. H. Blake, K.C.; Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Belleville; James L. Englehart, Pctrolea; Rev. Father Teefy; Judge Colin Snider, Hamilton. For four years' term—Byron E. Walker; G. R. R. Cockburn; Chester D. Massey; Rev. D. Bruce Macdonald; W. T. White; E. C. Whitney, Ottawa. For six years' term—Goldwin Smith; Chief Justice Moss; E. B. Osler, M.P.; J. W. Flavelle; Rev. J.