Volume 3, No. 29

July 16, 1975

Appointments to the Order of Canada

Former Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, Dr. A.E. Ritchie, who last year retired from the Department owing to illness, was one of three appointees to the Companion of the Order of Canada announced by Governor-General Jules Léger on June 27, together with a former director of the Stratford Festival, Dr. Jean Gascon, and Dr. William Gauvin, Director of Research for Noranda Mines Limited.

Sixty-two nominees to the Order include three Companions, the highest appointment, 20 Officers and 39 Members, all of whom will be invested at Government House in the autumn.

Dr. Ritchie served as Canada's Ambassador to the United States from 1966-1970 before being appointed Under-Secretary and, in 1973, was awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award of the Public Service of Canada in recognition of his outstanding service to Canada in diplomatic and international economic affairs. He became Special Adviser to the Privy Council Office last year.

Jean Gascon, who was recently appointed a member of the National Film Board Administrative Council, founded the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde in 1951 with actors Jean-Louis Roux and Guy Hoffman. He became Artistic Director of the Stratford Shakespearean Festival in 1967. Dr. Gascon was appointed to the Order of Canada as a recipient of the Medal of Service in 1967, becoming an Officer in 1972, when the constitution of the Order was amended.

Dr. William Gauvin, born in Paris, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and 17 other scientific societies, has 13 medals and scientific distinctions and more than 130 technical publications to his credit. In addition to his directorship with Noranda Mines, he is also Director of the Research Group on Plasma Technology at McGill University, Montreal.

Anne Murray among new Officers

One of Canada's best known popular vocalists, Anne Murray; Chairman of the Canadian Radio-Television Commission Pierre Juneau; author Solange Chaput Rolland; Women's Bureau director Sylva Gelber; and National Ballet



A.E. Ritchie

of Canada prima ballerina Veronica Tennant are among the new Officers of the Order of Canada.

Miss Murray, who was born in Springhill, Nova Scotia, is the first Canadian female singer to receive a gold record award which she won in 1970 for her recording of *Snowbird*. Since then she has won Canada's Juno Award as best female vocalist for the past five years, was voted Britain's top female vocalist (country) in 1972 and 1973, won a



Anne Murray

Grammy Award in 1974 and the Vanier Award as an outstanding young Canadian the same year.

Other new Officers are: Dr. Lionel Boulet, Director, Institute of Research, Hydro-Quebec; Edith Butler, Acadian folklorist; Jochem Carton, President March Shipping Ltd; Dr. W.A.C.H. Dobson, a Chinese scholar at the University of Toronto.

Robert Fowler, chief experimental test pilot for de Havilland Aircraft of Canada Ltd; Dr. John Gray, former Chairman, Macmillan Co. of Canada; Dr. J. Russell Harper, Curator of Canadian art for the Art Gallery of Ontario; Dr. Elmer Iseler, conductor of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir.

Eric McLean, music critic for the Montreal Star; Dr. Louis Poirier, Chairman Anatomy Department, University of Montreal; Carl Pollock, Honorary Chairman, Electrohome Ltd; Yves Theriault, writer and poet.

Maxwell Ward, President, Wardair Canada Ltd; Dr. Karel Wiesner, organic chemistry professor at the University of New Brunswick; Mrs. Mozah Zemans, President, Vanier Intitute of the Family.

New Members

The 39 new Members of the Order are: Mrs. Maryon Brechin, Past President, Consumers' Association of Canada; Guy Beaulne, a prominent Canadian and Quebec theatre figure; Toronto journalist and broadcaster Clyde Gilmour.

Dr. Nancy Adams, Maurice J. Bourgault, Roger Champoux.

Dr. Rae Chittick, Mrs. Martha Cohen, William Davies, Dr. Hugh Dempsey, Hayda Denault.

Edmund J. Desjardins, Mrs. Agnes Higgins, Mrs. Alma Houston, Fred P. Hudon, Ronald A. Irwin, Mrs. Lori Johnson, Dr. Percival Johnson, Dr. Wilfred Johnston, Jane Mallett.

Dr. Harding Moffatt, Eric Morse, Dr. Frederick McCrimmon, Lieutenant-Colonel Frank McEachern, Rodolphe Page, Dr. Phrixos Papachristidis, Dr. Vera Peters, Mrs. Eallien Robinson.

Charles Roy, Mrs. Susan Rubes, Ignatius Rumboldt, Gus Ryder, John C. Turnbull, Alexander Walton, J. Kenneth Watson, Dr. Ronald Way, Ben Weider, and Mrs. Pearl Whitehead.