Victory Loan Organization in British Columbia

Detailed Description of Province's Victory Loan Organization and the Work of the Vancouver City Committee, Showing the Intensive Efforts Being Made to Get Out Every Possible Subscription.

With the experience gained in the Victory Loan of 1917, the organization throughout Canada is brought into the closest co-operation with the public, and not one avenue of funds has been neglected. The real selling end and all that pertains to getting out the subscriptions, is provided for under the various provincial organizations. Whatever will be found to be the experience and success of the organizations in other provinces, certainly the British Columbia organization is complete, comprehensive and enthusiastic. If as a result of the present campaign the total figures are not equal to those anticipated, it will not be through lack of organization and the full, hearty co-operation of those business men who have so enthusiastically given up their time and businesses to make this loan a success. The personnel of the provincial executive which has charge of the entire operations of the sale in British Columbia, is made up of an outstanding number of capable, enthusiastic, hard

working business men.

Mr. W. H. Malkin, senior member of W. H. Malkin Co., Ltd., is chairman, and the following are on the committee: Stanley Burke, joint manager of the Vancouver office of Pemberton & Son; William Farrell, president of the British Columbia Telephone Co. and former provincial chairman; Mr. F. W. Marsh, provincial manager of the Canada Life; Mr. William McNeill, assistant general manager of the Western Power Company of Canada; Mr. John Nelson, managing director of the Vancouver World; Mr. F. W. Rounsefell, of Ceperley, Rousefell & Company; Mr. P. G. Shallcross, of Shallcross, Macaulay & Company; Mr. George Kidd, general manager of the British Columbia Electric Railway; Mr. H. H. Watson, of the Guaranty Investment Company; Mr. Frank Parsons, assistant general manager of Wood, Vallance & Leggat; Mr. George Buscombe, of Frederick Buscombe & Company; His Worship R. H. Gale, Mayor of Vancouver; Dr. Judson F. Clark, of Clark & Lyford; Mr. J. N. Ellis, of Ellis & Brown, barristers; Mr. George L. Smellie, provincial manager of the Canada Permanent Mortgage Corporation; Mr. J. P. Nicolls, of Macaulay & Nicolls; and Mr. L. W. Makovski, secretary. The work of the provincial executive is divided into the committees having charge of various phases of the campaign.

The provincial main committee is an honourary committee composed of prominent citizens of Vancouver and the province who act in an advisory capacity. Of this committee Mr. W. H. Malkin is chairman.

The bond dealers' advisory committee is under the chairmanship of Mr. Stanley Burke, who advises with and co-ordinates the work of the financial houses with the cam-

The business committee, under the chairmanship of Mr. H. H. Watson, takes over the incidental work of the pro-Vincial executive in the matter of securing help, authorizing

expenditures, purchasing supplies, etc.

The setting-up committee, under the chairmanship of Mr. S. Burke, is a work of pure co-ordination as between all the committees, and prevents over-lapping of work or neglect of any phase.

The finance committee, under the chairmanship of Mr. W. Rounsefell, and with Mr. J. P. Nicolls, provides for the paying of all bills and expenses incurred in connection

with the provincial campaign.

Mr. F. W. Marsh, which looks after all matters in connection with posters, parades and special provincial publicity apart from the work carried on by the Dominion organiza-tion throughout the press of Canada. This publicity com-mittee is divided into two sections, the first being the news features under the chairmanship of Mr. John Nelson, which has to deal with local phases of the campaign throughout

the province. The second section, namely, the public speakers, is under the chairmanship of Mr. J. N. Ellis, and is charged with the duty of providing speakers at labor meetings, theatres, churches, and all classes of meetings that may arise in the campaign. The work of this committee has, however, been almost eliminated because of the epidemic of Spanish influenza.

The special subscriptions committee is under the chairmanship of Mr. George Kidd, and this committee undertakes to provide for the canvassing of all individuals and firms having prospective subscriptions of \$25,000 and over.

The international committee is under the capable charge of Mr. L. W. Makosvki, secretary of the provincial executive. Its duties are to see that any considerable group of foreigners are organized, including Chinese, East Indians, Greeks, Italians, Japanese, Russians, etc.

The indexing committee is under the chairmanship of Mr. A. Anderson, of Anderson's, Limited, and has charge of the filing and arrangements of cards to be handed to the

sales organization in the various districts.

The recording committee is under the chairmanship of Mr. H. W. Dyson, general manager of the Yorkshire & Canadian Trust, and has the duty of recording and tabulating all subscriptions that come in throughout the province.

The Vancouver Island committee, which this year is charged with the supervision not only for Victoria but of the entire island, is under the chairmanship of Mr. R. F. Taylor, managing director of the Colonial Trust Company, Victoria. Mr. Taylor was in charge of the Victoria campaign last year, which for intensive canvassing and general organization was without a superior in Canada. The Vancouver City committee is under the chairmanship of Mayor Gale, with Mr. Frank Parsons as vice-chairman. The New Westminster committee is under the chairmanship of Mr. A. W. Gray, mayor of New Westminster.

With the exception of Vancouver, Vancouver Island, and New Westminster, the work of organization for the province is under the chairmanship of Mr. P. G. Shallcross. who is chairman of the provincial districts' organization, and Mr. J. D. Kearns is the organizer of the provincial dis-The provincial districts are divided up into seventeen different territories.

Number one is that of logging camps and Graham Island, and Mr. R. R. Maitland, of Macaulay & Nicolls, is the

Number two includes Ocean Falls, Bella Coola, Swanson Bay and Moresby Island, with Mr. R. P. Brown, of base-

ball fame as organizer.

Number three includes Prince Rupert, Anyox and along the G. T. P. to Prince George. Of this district Mr. E. B. McDermid, managing director of the Royal Financial Corporation, is organizer.

Number four is the Cariboo country, of which Mr. C.

E. Tisdall is organizer.

Number five includes Powell River and Vananda, of which Mr. A. W. Givin, of Taylor Forbes, is organizer.

Number six is Howe Sound, with Mr. B. S. Brown, man-

ager of the Crown Life, as organizer.

Number seven includes Delta municipality, under Mr.

Leon J. Ladner, of Ladner & Cantelon, barristers.

Number eight includes Kamloops, Merritt and Salmon Arm, of which Mr. E. A. Earle, of Ceperley, Rounsefell & Company, is organizer.

Number nine includes the Okanagan and the Similka-meen, under Mr. W. T. Shatford, of Penticton. Number ten, including Revelstoke, Arrowhead and Nakusp; number eleven, including Nelson, Boundary and Slocan; number fourteen, including Golden and the Columbia Valley; and number fifteen, including Crow's Nest points, is under the organization management of Mr. F. W. Sterling, of Vancouver.

Number twelve includes Phoenix, Trail and Rossland. is under the organization of Mr. R. D. Mitchell, of Rossland.