Treasurer.

The Treasurer shall have the custody of all moneys received, and shall deposit or invest the same in such manner as the Executive Committee shall direct, and not expend money except under direction or approval of the Executive Committee. The financial year of the Association shall close on December 31st of each year.

Order of Business.

At the regular meeting of the Association the order of business shall be that proposed by the Executive Committee and announced by the Presiding Officer. In the absence

of such prepared order of business, following shall be observed:-

(1) Calling to order.

(2) Reading and referring or disposing of letters, accounts, etc.

(3) Reports of Committees.

(4) Inquiries and notices of motion.
(5) President's address.

(6) Papers, addresses and discussions by members and others invited by the meeting.

(7) Nomination and election of officers.

(8) Unfinished and miscellaneous busi-

(9) Adjournment.

With the Forest Engineers.

(Contributed by the Canadian Society of Forest Engineers.)

Forest Engineers' Annual.

The fifth annual meeting of the Canadian Society of Forest Engineers convened at the Carnegie Library, Ottawa, at 3 p.m., on Wednesday, February 5, and also at an adjourned session at the Laurentian Club at 8 p.m. There were present Dr. B. E. Fernow, president, in the chair, Messrs. R. H. Campbell, Ellwood Wilson, D. R. Cameron, T. W. Dwight, L. M. Ellis, A. Knechtel, C. Leavitt, G. C. Piché, A. H. D. Ross, H. C. Wallin, E. J. Zavitz and F. W. H. Jacombe.

The secretary's report showed forty-two active members, with one honorary and

three associate members.

Mr. Thos. Southworth, on signifying his wish to withdraw from active membership through having severed active connection with forestry, was elected an honorary mem-

Mr. E. Wilson reported progress for the committee on the standardization of forest maps. On motion the committee was continued, Mr. Wilson being designated convener. Mr. A. H. D. Ross was added to the committee, and, on motion of Mr. Cameron, Mr. Wallin was substituted for the mover on the committee. This committee now consists of the following:-Mr. Wilson, convener, Dr. J. F. Clark, Dr. C. D. Howe and Messrs. Ross, Wallin and Dwight.

Mr. Wilson also reported verbally in regard to the proposed International Society of Foresters and asked that the committee be continued. The request was, on motion,

granted.

A motion regarding the qualification for active membership in the society, of which Mr. Wilson had given notice, was passed after amendment. The effect of the motion is that future candidates for active membership must not only be graduates of an

approved forest school, but must also have had two years of practical experience in the

practice or teaching of forestry.

The question of appointing advisory committees for the various divisions of the Dominion was introduced and it was resolved that such committees should be appointed, each committee to consist of three members, to be appointed by the Executive committee. Four committees are to be appointed, one for each of the following districts: (1) Quebec and the Maritime Provinces, (2) Ontario, (3) Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, and (4) British Columbia.

Mr. Dwight was appointed auditor.

The Executive committee was instructed to look into the question of procuring a charter for the society to work out a more satisfactory method of electing officers and to arrange for a dinner in connection with the next annual meeting.

The thanks of the society are again due to Mr. Campbell for his hospitality in entertaining the members at dinner at the Laurentian Club, a courtesy which was greatly

appreciated.

Additions to Membership.

The following have recently been added to the list of active members of the society:

Dominion Forest Service-Messrs. D. R. Cameron, T. W. Dwight, W. N. Millar and H. C. Wallin.

Quebec Forest Service—A. Bedard.

British Columbia Forest Service-F. W. Beard, R. E. Benedict, O. D. Ingall, H. S. Irwin, H. C. Kinghorn, John Lafon, J. B. Mitchell, E. G. McDougall, T. H. Plumer, G. H. Prince, H. K. Robinson and W. J. Van Dusen.

Railway Commission—Clyde Leavitt. University of Toronto-J. H. White.