PREFACE.

Since the publication of the last Edition of the Companion in 1891 a greater number of changes have occurred in the leadership of the dominating political party than at any other period during the history of Canada. Sir John A. Macdonald, Sir John J. C. Abbott, Sir John S. D. Thompson, Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., and Hon. Wilfrid Laurier have all successively been Prime Ministers of Canada within the comparatively short period of six years. The General Election of June, 1896, resulted in the Liberal-Conservative Government being obliged to give way to a Ministry from the Liberal party. A change has also taken place in the Premiership in all the provinces save that of Manitoba. General Elections have also largely changed the complexion of the several legislatures.

The arrangement of the information in the former editions has been followed except the portion relating to the Imperial Honours borne by Canadians, which has been given a more prominent place in the present edition. Heretofore the information on this subject could only be gleaned at some trouble from English publications, and the Editor believes that the general list given in the COMPANION will prove interesting. The Tables of Precedence and Titles in Canada have been carefully prepared from the Imperial despatches relating to the subject, and may be relied upon as correct. In conclusion, the Editor desires to thank his numerous correspondents and friends for information supplied to him

OTTAWA, February 18, 1897.