Clause 140 (formerly clause 144—see amendment No. 81 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 149 (formerly clause 145—see amendment No. 82 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 148 (formerly clause 146—see amendment No. 83 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 146 (formerly clause 147—see amendment No. 84 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 147 (formerly clause 148—see amendment No. 85 above) as amended, was considered and adopted.

Clause 145 (formerly clause 149—see amendment No. 87 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 144 (formerly clause 150—see amendment No. 88 above) as amended, was considered and adopted.

Clause 150 (formerly clause 151—see amendment No. 91 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 151 (formerly clause 152—see amendment No. 92 above) as amended, was considered and adopted.

Clause 152 (formerly clause 153—see amendment No. 95 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 153 (formerly clause 154—see amendement No. 96 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 154 (formerly clause 155—see amendment No. 97 above) was considered and adopted.

Clause 155 (formerly clause 156—see amendment No. 98 above) was considered and adopted.

Clauses 157 to 161 inclusive were severally considered and adopted. Schedules A to L inclusive were severally considered and adopted.

Schedule M, as amended, was considered and adopted. Schedule N, as amended, was considered and adopted.

Schedule O was considered and adopted.

Schedule P, as amended, was considered and adopted. Schedules Q and R were considered and adopted.

During the course of the proceedings, Mr. Elderkin answered questions specifically referred to him.

At 12.40 o'clock p.m. the Committee adjourned to meet again at 3.30 o'clock p.m. this day.

压的

The Till

AFTERNOON SITTING

The Committee resumed at 3.30 o'clock p.m. Mr. David A. Croll, Chairman, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Anderson, Boucher (Restigouche-Madawaska), Breton, Cameron (Nanaimo), Cannon, Cardin, Dumas, Fleming, Follwell, Fraser (Peterborough), Fraser (St. John's East), Hanna, Hellyer, Henderson, Huffman, Hunter, Macdonnell, MacEachen, Matheson, McMillan, Michener, Monteith, Philpott, Pouliot, Quelch, Robichaud, Stewart (Winnipeg North), Tucker, and Wood.

In attendance: The Honourable D. C. Abbott, Q.C., Minister of Finance; Mr. C. F. Elderkin, Inspector General of Banks; Mr. G. K. Bouey, Assistant Chief, Research Department, Bank of Canada; Mr. T. H. Atkinson, President of The Canadian Bankers' Association and Vice-President and General Manager of The Royal Bank of Canada; Mr. W. T. G. Hackett, Assistant General Manager of the Bank of Montreal.

The Committee resumed consideration of Clause 10, of Bill 297, an Act to amend the Bank of Canada Act.