PRESS RELEASE



DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 64

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, AUGUST 23. 1960.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that fourteen Canadian teachers will shortly be leaving Canada to take up assignments abroad under Canadian foreign aid programmes. This is a result of one of the decisions taken at the Commonwealth Education Conference held at Oxford in 1959 when Canada offered certain assistance designed to help other Commonwealth countries in the training of teachers. The fourteen teachers are: Mr. C. Wayne Hall, Secretary of the Institute of Education at Macdonald College and Mr. J.G. Egnatoff of the Teachers! College, Saskatoon, who are both going to the Teachers! College at Lagos, Nigeria; Mr. J.I.F. Levaque, Supervisor of the Industrial Arts Department for the Ottawa Separate School Board, who is going to Uganda in Africa; Mrs. M.M. McDonald of the Eston High School, Saskatchewan; Mr. J.C. Jensen, Superintendent of Schools for the city of Drumheller, Alberta; Mr. F.L. Bates of the Teachers' College, Regina, Saskatchewan; Mr. R.V. Whiteley, Hoad of the Science Department of the Scaforth High School in Ontario; Mr. R.B. Gould, Superintendent of Schools for the city of Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, and Mr. C. A.E. Hensley, Head of the Schools Science Centre at Winnipeg, Manitoba, all of whom are going to the West Indies; Mr. D.M. Collacott of the Community Planning Branch, Department of Education for the Province of Ontario, who is going to North Borneo; Mr. C.S. Carroll, Head of the Mathematics Department of North Vancouver High School and Mr. W.G. Wedder, Assistant Principal of Hardisty Junior High School at Edmonton, who are going to the Teachers! College in Singapore; and Mr. and Mrs. C.H. Smith, both Teacher Counsellors of the Victoria School District in B.C. who are together going to Kanowit in Sarawak.