CD/880 page 3

The Conference elected as Vice-Presidents the heads of delegation of the following States: Bangladesh; Brazil; Cameroon; Japan; Mexico; Morocco; Poland; Sweden; Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and United States of America.

The Conference elected Mr. Kalevi SORSA, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Finland, as President of the Committee of the Whole.

The Conference elected Dr. Peter VARKONYI, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Hungarian People's Republic, as President of the Credentials Committee.

- 4. The Secretary-General of the Conference was Mr. Claude ARNAUD, Ambassador of France. He was assisted by Mr. Jean de PONTON d'AMECOURT, Executive Secretary-General, Mr. Jean-Marc ROCHEREAU de la SABLIERE, Deputy Secretary-General (for the Conference in plenary session), and Mr. Philippe GUELLUY, Deputy Secretary-General (for the Committee of the Whole).
- 5. The Conference held nine plenary sessions, during which 109 delegations spoke in the general debate.
- 6. The Committee of the Whole held six sessions, during which it examined and finalized the draft Final Declaration of the Conference. The President of the Committee of the Whole reported to the Conference.
 - 7. The Credentials Committee comprised, in addition to its President, delegates of the following States: Argentina; Australia; Austria; Czechoslovakia; Indonesia; Nigeria; Peru; Philippines and Senegal.

The Credentials Committee held two meetings, at which it examined the credentials of representatives.

The Conference adopted the report of the Credentials Committee, the text of which is annexed to this Final Act.

8. The Conference adopted this Final Act together with the Final Declaration set out below:

In witness whereof the undersigned have appended their signatures to the original copy deposited in the archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the French Republic.

The President of the Conference

Roland DUMAS

The Secretary-General of the Conference

Claude ARNAUD