which led to the Missionary work of the C. M. S. among the Macries. In 1840 England incorporated the Islands into her Empire, and in 1841, George Augustus Selwyn, the foremost Missionary of his age, was appointed Bishop of New Zealand. Out of his Diocese have grown six Dioceses, Dunedin, Christ Church, Nelson, Wellington, Waiapua, and In 1847 the Bishop Auckland. began Missionary work in Melane-In 1854 he took out with him John Coleridge Patterson, afterwards the Martyr-Bishop. In 1862, in answer to a request of the King of the Sandwich Islands, Dr. Staley became Bishop of Honolulu.

New Zealand.—For 17 years Bishop Selwyn had the oversight of the whole of these Islands, larger and smaller. In 1858 his Diocese was limited to that part of New Ulster, the Northern Island, bounded on the south by Wellington and on the east by 176° east longitude with the adjacent Islands. The Bishop of New Zealand became Metropolitan throughout New Zealand and its dependencies. 1869, when Bishop Selwyn became Bishop of Lichfield, England, and was succeeded by Bishop Cowie, the name of the Diocese was changed to Auckland, and Bishop Harper, of Christ Christ, became Primate. The population of this Diocese is 116,000, with 41,000 members of the Church of England. Clergymen, 46, of whom 14 are natives. Five Maori Deacons were ordained in addition, Jan. 20th.

Christ Church — This Diocese comprises the Provinces of Canterbury and Westland. Population, 100,000; Church members, 45,000;

income for Church purposes, £8,556. Dr. Harper is the Bishop.

Dunedin.—This Diocese comprises the Province of Otago, the southern extremity of the Southern Island. The population at present numbers over 100,000, about onethird of whom are Church people. Bishop Nevill has 17 clergy, 7 of whom are in the three self-supporting towns.

Nelson.—This Diocese comprises a portion of New Munster, the middle Island. Population about 35,-000; members of the Church of England, about 15,000, with 14 The native population are NEARLY ALL members of the English Church.

Wellington .- This Diocese comprises the Province of Wellington, in the Northern Island. It was formed in 1858. Population, 52,-000; Church members, 23,500; income, £9,502.

Waiapua.—This Diocese lies on the east of the Northern Island. Dr. Williams was consecrated first Bishop in 1859. At his death, in 1878, he had been a Missionary in New Zealand fifty years. His successor, Bishop Short, has been an East Indian Missionary for 25 years. Population, 26,000; Church members, 12,000; clergy, 25, including 8 natives.

Melanesia.—Dr. J. C. Patterson, after working among these Islands as a Missionary under Selwyn for six years, was consecrated in New Zealand in 1861 Bishop of Melane-On Sept. 20th, 1871, he was martyred, with two companions, at Nukapee, one of the Santa Cruz Islands. His successor is J. R. Selwyn, son of the late Bishop of communicants, 5,000; clergy, 45; Lichfield, a worthy son of a worthy