Minutes of a Preliminary Meeting of the Delegates, elected by the various Districts of British Celumbia, convened at Yale, pursuant to the following call:—

## "YALE CONVENTION.

HE Confederation League propose holding at Yale, on Monday, 14th September. 1868, a Convention of Delegates, for the purpose of accelerating the admission of this Colony into the Dominion of Canada, upon equitable and beneficial terms; and, also, to devise means to secure Representative Institutions with Responsible Government for this Colony; and to take such other steps as the Convention may deem proper to obtain redress for the numerous grievances under which this country now suffers.

The Inhabitants of the respective Districts of the Colony are invited to elect Delegates without delay to represent their views in the above Convention.

By order of the Executive Committee,

"ROBERT BEAVEN, "Secretary."

The following Gentlemen were present:

Messrs. Wallace, Robson, DeCosmos, Firher, Barnard, Black, Evans, Norris, McMillan, Thompson, Featherstone, Gibbs, Babbitt, Withrow, Armstrong, Miller, Smith, Holbrook, Rose, Nelson, Havelock, Fulton, McLardy, Brouse, King.

Moved by Mr. Barnard, seconded by Mr. Robson: That Mr. Wallace take the Chair pro tem.—Carried.

Moved by Mr. Barnard, seconded by Mr. Nelson: That Mr.

Chas. Evans be Secretary pro. tem .- Carried.

Moved by Mr. DeCosmos: That a Committee on credentials, consisting of three, be appointed; which Committee shall suggest what offices are necessary for the purposes of the Convention. Seconded by Mr. McMillan and carried.

The Chairman appointed as Committee on credentials, Mossrs.

Barnard, Thompson, and Babbitt.

Moved by Mr. DeCosmos, seconded by Dr. Black: That an intermission till the call of the Chairman be allowed for the Committee on credentials to report.—Carried

On the Chairman resuming his seat, the Committee on credentials presented the following Report, and asked leave to sit

again:

The Committee appointed to examine credentials report the

following Gentlemen qualified to sit in this Convention:

Messrs. R. Wallace, Amor DeCosmos, (Victoria); Brouse, (Lako-La Hache); Henry Holbrook, John Robson, A. W. S. Black, David Withrow, (New Westminster City); Alex. Rose (Yale District); D. W. Miller, (New Westminster District); R. Smith, (Lytton District); Chas. Evans, Adam McLardy, Henry Havelock, (Yale); Jas. E. MeMillan, J. G. Norris, (Victoria); M. W. Gibbs, (Salt Spring Island); E. H. Babbitt,