HOW CANADA IS GOVERNED.

III. THE MUNICIPAL SYSTEM OF ONTARIO.

(Chap. VIII., note 2.)

t. The County Council (1897) is composed of two County Councillors from each of the districts (4-9) into which, acording to population, each county is divided. These councillors are elected for two years. Nominations take place on the second last Monday of the year, and the election, which is by ballot, on the first Monday of the new year. Each elector has as many votes as there are persons to be elected, and he may give all his votes to one person—a new way of voting.

The Warden is the presiding officer. He is elected annually by the County Councillors from among themselves. The County Council has control of the making of county roads and bridges, and the building of jails, court-houses and poor-houses.

The chief officers appointed by the Council are: Clerk, Treasurer, Public School Inspector, and Keeper of the Poor-House. The resolutions of the County Council are called By-laws.

2. Other Municipal Councils are composed as follows: Cities—A Mayor and three Aldermen for each ward.

Towns—A Mayor and three Councillors for each ward. **Villages**—A Reeve and four Councillors.

Townships—A Reeve, a Deputy-Reeve and three Councillors.

All of these officers are elected by ballot annually, on the first Monday of the year. The Chief Magistrate of each municipality is the Mayor or the Reeve, as the case may be.

Each Council has control of the raising of taxes for local improvements and for educational purposes. The officers of each Council are : The Clerk, Treasurer, Assessor, Collector and Health Officer, who are appointed annually. The resolutions of all these Councils are called By-laws.

IV. PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM OF ONTARIO.

(Chap. VIII., note 5.)

For educational purposes each township is divided into School Sections, each electing School Trustees, who map