Hon. F. W. Gershaw, for Hon. Mr. Roebuck, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Divorce, moved the adoption of the following resolutions:

Resolution 580, for the relief of Halina Alexandra Bryczkowska Matthews.

Resolution 581, for the relief of Clair Jacqueline Simon Pesner.

Resolution 582, for the relief of Jean Mc-Kinley Law Lear.

Resolution 583, for the relief of William Robert Galley.

Resolution 584, for the relief of Marie Gilberte Marcelle Lapointe Perron.

Resolution 585, for the relief of Jessie Elizabeth Young Moule.

Resolution 586, for the relief of Mona Sivell Laporte.

Resolution 587, for the relief of Antica Korlaet Turkovic, otherwise known as Antonietta Korlaet Turkovich.

Resolution 588, for the relief of J. Arthur Larocque.

Resolution 589, for the relief of Faith Audrey Gloria Burnham Martel.

Resolution 590, for the relief of Anna Maria Garrity Dinardo.

Resolution 591, for the relief of Ingeborg Dietrich Rangas.

Resolution 592, for the relief of Mary Marjorie Dextras Kinsella.

Resolution 593, for the relief of Veronika Zsuzanna Erdosi Korpas.

Resolution 594, for the relief of Yolande St. Pierre Jodoin.

Resolution 595, for the relief of Joyce Ann Ikeman Edelstein.

Resolution 596, for the relief of Germaine Savoie Bisaillon.

Resolution 597, for the relief of John Stewart Geddie.

Resolution 598, for the relief of Evelyn Page Mailloux.

Resolution 599, for the relief of Alice Therese Guerin Richer Lafleche.

Resolution 600, for the relief of Emeline Alice Roberts Roberts.

Resolution 601, for the relief of Jeannine McRae Black.

Resolution 602, for the relief of Lawrence Law.

Resolution 603, for the relief of Paraskevi Bakolia Pagakis.

Resolution 604, for the relief of Zelda Green Harris.

Resolution 605, for the relief of Shirley Louise Sigman Vineberg.

Resolution 606, for the relief of Edyth Jo-Anne Clark Bentley.

Resolution 607, for the relief of Reisa Weiner Levinson.

Resolution 608, for the relief of Edwards Berzins.

Resolution 609, for the relief of Jocelyne Boyer Mongauzy.

Resolution 610, for the relief of Helen Lester Brettschneider.

Resolution 611, for the relief of Henri Bouchard.

Resolution 612, for the relief of Ronald Kenneth MacLean.

Resolution 613, for the relief of Howard Charles Rosen.

Resolution 614, for the relief of Edith Ann Weiser Berman.

Resolution 615, for the relief of Rae Yane Hershenkopf.

Resolutions adopted, on division.

PRIVATE BILL

INTERPROVINCIAL PIPE LINE COMPANY— SECOND READING

Hon. Hartland de M. Molson moved the second reading of Bill S-42, respecting Interprovincial Pipe Line Company.

He said: Honourable senators, Bill S-42 is indeed a simple one. Its purposes are fully set out in the explanatory notes. You will see that the purpose is to divide each of its present 40 million authorized shares of par value of \$5 each into five shares of the par value of \$1 each.

The bill also sets out the reasons for this move, which are to enable the smaller investor more easily to take part in the growing and prosperous company, and also to enable some of the company employees to participate in the future prosperity of the company.

In this latter connection, the company has a voluntary employees' savings plan by which the employees are enabled to invest in the shares of the company, if they wish. It is for both these reasons that a division of the stock would be of great benefit.

At the present time the stock has risen to a rather high market value. In the explanatory notes you will see that in June the shares of the company had a market value of approximately \$85 each. In the intervening months that value has again risen, and in recent weeks the shares of the company have been selling at approximately \$95. As you will appreciate, this is a high price for a small investor to pay. The ordinary man on the street who has a little money to invest would certainly rather have five or ten shares of a stock selling at, say, \$10 or \$20 a share

20224-71