A



PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 87

FOR RELEASE AT 8 P.M. December 22, 1949.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs released today further information about the Commonwealth conference on Foreign Affairs which will open in Colombo on Monday, January 9, 1950. It is expected that the conference will last for about 10 days although every attempt will be made to complete its work in a week.

The conference is being held so that an exchange of ideas may take place between the Commonwealth countries on various aspects of the world situation today. In addition to the meetings on international affairs, there will be a series of meetings on an official level to discuss some of the general economic matters of interest to the Commonwealth.

Following are the principal delegates and advisers in each Commonwealth delegation:

United Kingdom.
Delegates: The Right Honourable Ernest Bevin, Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs. The Rt. Hon. Philip Noel-Baker, Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations.

Special Advisers: The Rt. Hon. Malcolm MacDonald, Commissioner General for the United Kingdom in South East Asia. Sir Walter Hankinson, United Kingdom High Commissioner in Ceylon.

Official Advisers:

(a) Foreign Affairs: Sir Percivale Liesching, Permanent Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations. Mr. M.E. Dening, Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Foreign Office. Mr. J.J.S. Garner, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations. Mr. G.W. Ridsdale, News Department, Foreign Office. Mr. F.S. Tomlinson, Foreign Office.

(b) Economic: Sir Henry Wilson Smith, Second Secretary to the Treasury. Sir Roger Makins, Deputy Under-Secretary Foreign Office. Mr. M.T. Flett, Under-Secretary to the Treasury. Mr. N.E. Costar, Commonwealth Relations Office. Mr. S. Goldman, Treasury. Mr. G. Bowen,

Board of Trade.

Canada.

Delegates: The Hon. L. B. Pearson, Secretary of State for External Affairs. The Hon. R.W. Mayhew, Minister of Fisheries.

Advisers: Mr. Escott Reid, Deputy Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mr. D.M. Johnson, Canadian High Commissioner Designate to Pakistan. Mr. A.R. Menzies, Far Eastern Division, Department of External Affairs. Mr. D.V. LePan, Economic Division, Department of External Affairs. Mr. T.N. Beaupre, Department of Trade and Commerce.

Australia
Delegate: The Hon. T.C. Spender, Minister for External
Affairs.

Advisers: Mr. H.R. Collan, Australian High Commissioner in India. Mr. John Oldham, Australian High Commissioner in Pakistan. Mr. C.W. Frost, Australian High Commissioner in Ceylon. Mr. L.R. McIntyre, Counsellor, External Affairs Department. Mr. A. Tange, Counsellor, External Affairs Department. Mr. F.H. Wheeler, First Assistant,