The Centre is associated with certain other small units, collectively known as the Central Staff, intended to assist the Minister and his senior officials by serving as an expediting and liaison group.

The Policy Analysis Group was established to assist in the development and analysis of major policy issues in the sphere of foreign affairs. It works closely with a number of similar organizations, both within and outside the Government. The Group also assists the Department in developing and applying new techniques of forecasting and futureoriented policy research.

The Bureau of Security and Intelligence Liaison (which does not fit into the area, functional or administration groups) deals with the security aspects of the Department's operations and is responsible for the conduct of liaison on security and intelligence matters.

The Protocol Division handles matters of the accreditation and appointment of foreign and Commonwealth representatives to Canada and of Canadian representatives to other countries, resolves questions of diplomatic privileges and immunities, in respect both of foreign missions to Canada and Canadian missions abroad, and plans, organizes and manages state and official visits to Canada and the hospitality involved.

> The Department provides administrative support for the Special Research Bureau.

The Inspection Service, which reports direct to the Under-Secretary, is responsible for carrying out systematic independent reviews and appraisals of departmental operations both at posts abroad and at headquarters. It seeks to assist all levels of management in the effective discharge of their responsibilities by furnishing them with objective analyses, appraisals, comments and recommendations. It also assists the Interdepartmental Committee on External Relations (ICER) by on-the-spot appraisals of the integration of support services at posts.

The Departmental Adviser on Bilingualism supervises the co-ordination of departmental policies on bilingualism and administers language tests.

Area Bureaux The area divisions are distributed amongst the Bureaux of African and Middle Eastern Affairs, Asian and Pacific Affairs, European Affairs and Western Hemisphere Affairs. Each division is responsible for a number of the countries that make up the region administered by the bureau to which it belongs.(2) The Bureau of African and Middle Eastern Affairs comprises the African Affairs I, African Affairs II

⁽²⁾ See Appendix II.