Administration. Work is also carried on in a summer school and in extension and extra-mural (correspondence) departments. Reference has already been made to the French-English language school conducted each summer by the University at Trois Pistoles, Quebec.

Most of the University buildings are located on a spacious wooded campus of 260 acres, bounded by the Thames River, on the outskirts of London. The Medical School is in downtown London and two affiliated arts colleges are in the industrial city of Windsor, 125 miles west of London; a third affiliated arts college serves the twin cities of Kitchener and Waterloo. This decentralization increases the University's service to one of Canada's most populous and most prosperous agricultural and industrial regions, of which London is the geographical, commercial and cultural centre.

McMaster University

McMaster University was granted a Charter in 1887.
Originally located in Toronto, it was moved in 1927 to Hamilton,
Ontario, and now consists of three colleges, the Divinity School,
which is the Theological College, University College (arts),
and Hamilton College (sciences and the school of nursing).
The University is privately endowed and is Baptist in religious
affiliation. Hamilton College, however, is non-denominational,
and operated by a separate Board of Governors through provincial
grants, distinct from the University's endowment. The physical
plan of the University is currently being augmented by a new
library building, an additional laboratory for research in
experimental science and a separate graduate school of theology.

The University of Ottawa

On September 27, 1848, the first Bishop of Bytown opened St. Joseph's College which became subsequently the College of Bytown and the College of Ottawa, and in 1866 the University of Ottawa. In 1889 the University received from Rome its official recognition as a Catholic University with powers to confer degrees in philosophy, theology, and canon law. Its unique characteristic is illustrated by the publication in the University Quarterly "Le Revue d'Université d'Ottawa", of articles in French and English, the two languages of Canada, and in Latin, the language of the Church. The intention of the founders that the University should be bilingual has been carried out and it is appropriate that this institution, located in the heart of the nation's capital, should offer its courses of instruction in the two official languages of Canada. The ecclesiastical faculties have a justifiably wide reputation and each year between 300 and 400 priests, clerics, and laymen, from all parts of Canada and the United States, register in the traditional courses of philosophy, theology, and canon law; but the interests of the University are broad, and Schools of Medicine, Applied Science, Political Science, and Music, as well as Institutes of Psychology and Physical Education, have been established. In ten affiliated institutions, six of them in the Prairie Provinces, students are prepared for the same examinations which their young colleagues try on the same day in the parent university.

During the 1949-50 session, about 350 faculty members offered courses to nearly 5,000 students. These had come to Ottawa from the ten provinces, from the United States and from 22 other foreign countries.

Carleton College

"The Ottawa Association for the Advancement of Learning" was organized in 1942 with its immediate objective to offer