Its objective is to co-ordinate the defence requirements, development, production and procurement for the two countries in order to achieve the best use of their respective production resources for common defence.

## 8. The United States-Canada Civil Emergency Planning Committee

Co-operation between Canada and the United States in the field of Civil Emergency Planning is governed by the Agreement effected in the Exchange of Notes of August 8, 1967. The United States-Canada Civil Emergency Planning Committee, which is dealt with in the Agreement, meets at the senior official level. The Agreement stipulates that the Committee will "meet at least once each year at such times and places to be agreed upon".

In this Committee the two countries co-operate on civil emergency planning (including civil defence) in order to achieve the maximum degree of compatibility feasible between emergency plans or systems within each of the two countries and to recommend to their respective governments co-operative arrangements for mutual assistance in the event of armed attack on either country in North America.

## 9. North American Air Defence Command

In 1957 the Minister of National Defence of Canada and the Secretary of Defence of the United States announced agreement to the setting up of a system of integrated operational control for the air defences "in continental United States, Canada and Alaska" under an integrated command responsible to the Chiefs of Staff of both countries. The understanding was finalized by an Exchange of Notes on May 12, 1958 which provided for the agreement to run to ten years. In May, 1968 it was renewed for a further five years, it being understood that a review of the Agreement may be undertaken at any time at the request of either Party and that the agreement may be terminated by either Government after such review following a period of notice of one year.

NORAD includes such combat units as are specifically assigned to it by the two governments. The appointments of the Commander and his deputy must be approved by both governments and both officers cannot be nationals of the same country.

## 10. <u>International Joint Commission</u>

The International Joint Commission was established in 1911 under Article VII of the 1909 Canada-United States Boundary Waters Treaty.

The Commission's functions encompass finding equitable solutions to a wide variety of problems arising along the Canada-United States boundary. However, over the years it has dealt mainly with questions involving the regulation of the flows of boundary waters and the abatement of boundary waters pollution and trans air pollution.

The Commission is composed of six commissioners, three appointed by the Government of the United States and three appointed by the Government of Canada. The Canadian section is responsible to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The Commission meets semi-annually and alternates the site of its meetings between Canada and the United States.

## 11. International Boundary Commission

The International Boundary Commission was established under Article I of the Canada-United States 1908 International Boundary Demarcation Treaty.

This treaty was later amended by the 1925 Canada-United States Boundary Demarcation Treaty.

The functions of the Commission include inspecting the boundary; repairing, relocating and rebuilding boundary monuments; keeping boundary vistas open; maintaining at all times an effective boundary line and determining the location of any point of the boundary which may become necessary in the settlement of any question between the two governments. In order to give appropriate support to the increasingly complicated problems stemming from the natural growth along the boundary line it was found necessary within Canada to enact the 1960 International Boundary Commission Act.