Russia — Fact Sheet

General

Capital

Moscow

Total area

17,075,400 km²

Population

147 million

Currency

ruble (Rr)

Language

Russian

Political

Type of state

Federation

Type of government

Presidential republic

Head of state

President Boris Yeltsin (since June 1991)

Head of government

Acting Prime Minister Yegor Gaidar (since June 1992)

Minister of foreign affairs

Andrey Kozyrev (since October 1990)

Main political parties

Democratic Russia Movement, Democratic Party of Russia, Workers' Russia, Peoples' Party of Free Russia, Russian

Christian Democratic Movement

Congress of Peoples' Deputies

1,060 members elected for 5 years. Two-tier regional and local

constituencies. Last election in March 1990.

Supreme Soviet (parliament)

252 members elected by Congress for 1 to 5 years. Last rotation

in 1992.

Next elections

1995

Economic

First deputy prime minister

(economic reform)

Yegor Gaidar

First deputy prime minister

(industry)

Vladimir Shumeyko

Minister of finance

Vassily Barchuk