2. A Cabinet of nineteen members having seats in either House of Parliament, possessing the numerical support of the Lower House, and responsible for all legislation and administration.

3. A Senate composed of ninety-eight members appointed by the Crown for life, holding powers of legislation coördinate with the Lower House, excepting in respect of initiating or amending money or tax bills. The position of senators is somewhat anomalous, since their number cannot be varied by the House of Commons, excepting by the addition of six members; and an incoming ministry is apt to find a senate of the same political complexion as the ministry it has succeeded, a circumstance which has just resulted in the rejection of the Naval Aid Bill.

4. A House of Commons composed of 222 members upon a suffrage practically universal, having the same privileges and powers as the English House of Commons when these powers are defined by law. The number of representatives allowed to each Province is redistributed after each decennial census.

5. A Dominion Judiciary, consisting of a Supreme Court of six judges, of whom one is Chief Justice. This body acts as a Court of Appeal for all provincial courts, and appeal may again be had from its decision to the Judicial Committee of the King's Privy Council in England, whose judgment is final.

The government of the various provinces is vested in:

1. A Lieutenant-Governor, appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and executing the usual functions of the head of a responsible executive.