Students vote en mass

By DAVID MOGILEVSKY and CHRIS CHAPMAN Brunswickan Staff

John Bosnitch is the new President of the Student Union. Bosnitch after the election said, "At 7 o'clock tonight, when the polls closed, the students of UNB woke up. No this election had 2069 voters. longer is there going to be corruption, dishonesty, thievery or irresponsibility in the Stu-

dent Union. Under my Presidency, this will be government of true representatives that will make every other campus in Canada envious."

Everyone was surprised by the large number of students that voted. Usually only about 1300 students vote, however

The race for some positions, such as computer science representative and graduate studies representative, was extremely tight. These positions were decided by a mere three votes.

There was a complication in this election. Timothy Lethbridge wrote a letter to the St. Thomas University publication, The Aquinian. He was a candidate for Vicepresident and the Senate. The Aquinian is normally issued every second Wednesday. The issue with Lethbridge's letter

happened to be published on election day. Lethbridge's letter was of two parts. In the first part of the letter he stated that he was not a member of the Student Party. Secondly, Lethbridge made a short comment on his qualifications for each office. There was a concern that such a letter could be considered as campaigning on election day. Campaigning on election day is forbidden by the election regulations. To

resolve the situation it was decided that Lethbridge would have to win by at least 5%. It was felt that the letter had a marginal effect on the voters. This decision was written out and sealed in an envelope at 7:00 p.m. election day. The decision was made before the results were known.

Not only did Bosnitch win the election but so did most of the people associated with the Unity platform.

Poll by poll results

	i on by pon resums												
	1 SUB	2 FOR GEOL	MAC- LAG	LUD LOW	5. HEAD HALL	6. LADY DUNN	7. McCON NELL	8. SCI LIB.	9. TIL- LEY	10. MAIN GYM	11. d'AVRAY HALL	12. Mc- LEOD	TOTALS
PRESIDENT John Bosnitch Sandra Hollingum Jim Bewick Matthew Stevenson Sandy MacFarlane	209 -67 -34 -68 -23	. 40 11 7 7 4	16 18 9 8 3	10 28 10 3 3	203 63 38 30 15	48 50 46 29 8	121 116 20 17 8	75 19 15 5	93 52 29 34 8	21 17 3 6 2	38 15 9 9	28 46 8 5	902 502 229 221 95
VICE PRESIDENT Timothy Lethbridge Bruce Logan	205 143	44 21	19 23	23 19	213 115	84 77	160 99	74 36	99 93	29 16	36 22	51 32	1037 697
COMPTROLLER Darren Evans Randy McDonald Michael Tsamaz Derek McDorman	97 113 132 52	0 0 0 0	22 11 14 9	-13 8 15 12	96 132 67 42	106 15 45 1	132 63 40 21	20 54 40 10	62 50 66 50	18 16 14 6	22 18 25 9	35 9 4 9	623 489 462 209
SENATE Timothy Lethbridge Deborah Hempel Willa Stevenson	163 77 146	29 18 17	18 16 15	22 17 11	108 145 54	79 62 40	131 46 102	59 27 27	91 40 76	20 11 18	37 25 6	49 37 7	806 521 519
BOARD OF GOVERNORS Carol Foley Michael Grant Randy McDonald	172 94 129	19 24 22	26 10 19		77 203 74	67 86 26	117 89 74	31 39 53	111 43 55	32 10 10	30 14 26	46 33 13	728 645 501
ARTS Felix Kofie Willa Stevenson	64 55	•	4 7		•	6 4	7 13		37 23	5 -		7 7	131 115
BUSINESS Debbie Watson Oliver Koncz Darell Bradbury	84 32 26	i 0 0	6 1 0		:	28 3 2	47 19 14		73 33 20	5 1 2		15 4 4	259 93 68
COMPUTER SCIENCE Allen Roulston Kenneth MacEachern Ronnie Hunter-Durar	13 4 7		1 1 0		16 22 13	11 12 1	15 13 8	2 1 5	5 5 0		76. ·	4 2 1	63 60 34
GRADUATE STUDIES Daizal R. Samad Jeffrey Fryer Andrew Grieve	13 3 1	1 0 0	· •		7 21 2	A_ 0	0 4 1	9 1 1	5 3 2	2 3 0	4 3 2		41 38 9
REP. AT LARGE Michael Pringle Rod MacDenald	201 178	44 20	30 25	15 31	219 76	119 57	208 62	74 42	114 98	26 25	40 29	66 29	1156 672
GRAD CLASS PRES. Steven Grant Darrell Stephenson	35 31	10 6	2 1	6 7	62 7	5 3	11 11	13 8	30 27	6	6 8	8 2	194 112
Valedictorian Mary Abraham Charles Diab Richard Hutchins Doug Richardson	22 25 22 7	6 5 5 0	3 0 0	6 1 2 3	38 14 10 7	6 0 1	8 3 8 3	12 4 1. 4	34 17 11 2	1 3 3 0	6 2 5 0	3 5 1	149 79 69 27