

CLIMATE CHANGE POLICY INITIATIVES: UPDATE

20 November 1991

1. Introduction and Major Changes in Content and Policies to be Found in Country Profiles

This is the first update since the 20 June 1991 publication in binder form. The replacement pages provided should be substituted for those of the same title in the binder. This update is timed to coincide with the fourth session of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee for a Framework Convention on Climate Change (INC). The next update will most likely precede its fifth session.

Together with these replacement pages, then, the publication gives an up-to-date, detailed description of energy-related climate change policy initiatives in the 24 OECD Member countries¹ and within the European Community. Country profiles include information on measures, either taken or contemplated, such as carbon taxes,

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.