British Columbia. September 1858, in the twenty-second year of Our reign, and in virtue as well of the powers vested in Us by an Act, entitled "An Act to provide for the Government of "British Columbia," as of all other powers and authorities belonging to Us in that behalf, established within the territories aforesaid a Colony under the title of British Columbia, bounded, as in the said recited Act is mentioned, to the south by the frontier of the United States of America, to the east by the main chain of the Rocky Mountains, to the north by Simpson's River and the Finlay Branch of the Peace River, and to the west by the Pacific Ocean, and including Queen Charlotte's Island, and all other islands adjacent to the said territories, except as therein-after excepted:

And whereas it has appeared to Us expedient that the right of exclusive trade with the Indians given by Us in manner aforesaid to the Governor and Company of Adventurers trading to Hudson's Bay, and their successors, within the territories in the said Instrument described, should no longer be exercised by them within so much of those

territories as is comprised within the said Colony of British Columbia:

Now know ye that We do hereby revoke Our said grant contained in the herein-before recited Instrument of the 30th May 1838, in so far as the same embraces or extends to the territories comprised within the said Colony of British Columbia:

And We do hereby declare, that this present revocation of Our said grant shall take effect within the said Colony as soon as it shall have been proclaimed there by the Officer Administering the Government thereof.