Mr. R. M. Esdale, Chief, Grain Division

Mr. A. R. A. Gherson, Chief, United States Division, Office of Trade Relations

Mr. R. M. McKay, Agriculture and Fisheries Branch.

From the Department of National Revenue

Mr. A. H. Halvorson, Customs Appraisal Division.

From the Department of Manpower and Immigration

Mr. Duncan Campbell, Acting Director, Programme Development Services.

From the Consumers' Association of Canada

Dr. H. E. English, Executive Vice-President Miss F. Janzen, Executive Secretary.

From the Canadian Importers Association

Mr. Ernest P. Carr, President

Mr. Keith G. Dixon, General Manager

Mr. Murray E. Corlett, Q.C., Counsel.

From the Machinery and Equipment Manufacturers Association of Canada

Mr. J. P. Finnigan, President

Mr. H. J. A. Chambers, Past President

Mr. G. D. Lewis, Vice-President.

On Behalf of a Number of Importers of Machines

Messrs. John Richard, Counsel and Gordon Hooper, Customs Consultant.

From the Canadian Chemical Producers Association

Dr. D. E. Jones, President

Mr. D. D. Stokes

Mr. R. B. MacPherson

Mr. K. B. Mathewson

Mr. D. S. Hart.

Representing the Canadian Salt Industry

Messrs. J. H. Rowland and A. D. Huffman.

From the Canadian Manufacturers Association

Mr. Carl A. Pollock

Mr. Archibald Johnston

Mr. C. F. Terrell

Mr. R. Lang.

From Electrohome Limited

Mr. Carl A. Pollock, President

Mr. D. S. Sykes, Executive Vice-President

Mr. William N. Hemphill, Secretary.

Briefs from the undermentioned were also filed with the Committee:

Canadian Machine Tool Distributors Association

Canadian Farm and Industrial Equipment Institute

Dominion Chartered Custom-House Brokers Association.

The Committee recommends the subject-matter of the proposed Customs Tariff resolutions to the House for its favourable consideration with the following comments: