Section C: Advisory Committees

Article 16: Joint Public Advisory Committee

- 1. The Joint Public Advisory Committee shall comprise six members, unless the Council otherwise decides. Each Party shall appoint an equal number of members.
- 2. The Council shall establish the rules of procedure for the Joint Public Advisory Committee, which shall choose its own chair.
- 3. The Joint Public Advisory Committee shall convene at least once a year at the time of the regular session of the Council and at such other times as the Council, or the Committee's chair with the consent of a majority of its members, may decide.
- 4. The Joint Public Advisory Committee may provide advice to the Council on any matter within the scope of this Agreement, including on any documents provided to it under paragraph 6, and on the implementation and further elaboration of this Agreement, and may perform such other functions as the Council may direct.
- 5. The Joint Public Advisory Committee may provide relevant technical, scientific or other information to the National Secretariats, including for purposes of developing a factual record under Article 15. The National Secretariats shall provide to the Council copies of any such information.
- 6. The National Secretariats shall provide to the Joint Public Advisory Committee at the time they are submitted to the Council copies of the proposed annual program of work and budget of the Commission and the draft annual report.

Article 17: National Advisory Committees

Each Party may convene a national advisory committee, comprising members of its public, including representatives of non-governmental organizations and persons, to advise it on the implementation and further elaboration of this Agreement.

Article 18: Governmental Committees

Each Party may convene a governmental committee, which may comprise or include representatives of national and provincial governments, to advise it on the implementation and further elaboration of this Agreement.

Section D: Official Languages

Article 19: Official Languages

The official languages of the Commission shall be English, French and Spanish. All annual reports under Article 13, factual records submitted to the Council under Article 15(6) and panel reports under Part Five shall be available in each official language at the time they are made public. The Council shall establish rules and procedures regarding interpretation and translation.