COPY

OF A

DESPATCH from Lieutenant General Sir John. Colborne, G.C.B., to Lord Glenelg, dated Montreal, 15th January 1839.

No. 4. My Lord.

Government House, Montreal, 15th January 1839.

WITH reference to your Despatch of the 14th December, No. 17, I have the Honour to transmit to you a List of the Members of the Special Council nominated by me on my assuming the Administration of the Government after the Departure of Lord Durham.

I considered it of Importance, under the Circumstances in which the Province was placed, to re-appoint all the Members who were in the Council last Year under my Administration of the Government, and to add to it Mr. Moffatt and Mr. Mondelet.

Mr. James Stuart, having been appointed Chief Justice of the Province, declined accepting a Seat in the Council, unless Her Majesty's Ministers might think it desirable that he should be appointed Chairman to the Council in the Absence of the Governor.

I have, &c.

(Signed)

J. COLBORNE.

The Right Hon. the Lord Glenelg, &c. &c. &c.

LIST of the MEMBERS of the Special Council appointed by his Excellency Sir John Colborne for the Session begun and holden in November 1838.

James Cuthbert.
Toussaint Pothier.
Charles C. De Lery.
Peter McGill.
George Moffatt (not of the Council in April 1838).
Dominique Mondelet (not of the Council in April 1838).
P. De Sales La Terriere.
Barthelemy Joliette.
P. De Rocheblave.
John Neilson.
Amable Dionne.

Samuel Gerrard.
Jules Quesnel.
U. P. Christie.
Charles E. Casgrain.
William Walker.
Jos. Ed. Faribault.
John Molson.
Et. Mayrand.
P. H. Knoulton.
Turton Penn.
Joseph Dionne.
Thomas Austin.