of Belledune river, until 1881 when it was restricted as at present. East by the line south from Belledune river (run 1848) to the latter line, changed in 1881 to run south four miles and thence south  $50^{\circ}$  west, the present line (run 1872), to the south-east line.

Victoria. Set off from Carleton, April 13, 1844, the thirteenth county, to separate the Tobique Grand Falls and the disputed territory from the lower settlements, and formed at this particular time and with these particular boundaries in order to help make good a claim to the territory then in dispute with Canada (see earlier, page 391). The shire town was Colebrooke, now Grand Falls, until 1876, when it was changed to Andover. The line separating it from Carleton was the River des Chutes (the second natural county boundary in the province), across the river, to a division line between lots, along that line easterly and its prolongation to the county line of York. This was changed by revised statutes of 1854 to a due east line from the mouth of the River des Chutes, but changed back by an Act of 1864 to the former and present line (run 1863).

Albert. Set off from Westmorland March 27, 1845, the four-teenth county, with Hopewell as shire town, recognizes the natural separation imposed by the River Petitcodiac, always difficult to cross especially in winter. West, by St. John and Kings, the present line (run 1836). South by Chignecto Bay as at present. East, by the Petitcodiac as at present, the third river adopted as a county boundary in New Brunswick. North, by the Petitcodiac as at present, and until 1846 by land grant lines, changed in that year to the present magnetic lines (run 1846), this portion being given to Westmorland to retain the head of the river in that county.

Madawaska. Set off from Victoria, April 14, 1873, the fifteenth and newest county, to separate the French settlements into a county by themselves, with Edmundston as shire town. Bounded from Victoria by a line beginning on the St. John at the end of the International due north line and running N.E. (magnetic) to Restigouche. In 1875 this was changed to the present line, approximately following Little River for a distance, and then running true north to Restigouche.

The dates here given for the erection of the later counties differ from those given in the Act of 1896 in several cases. This is because the latter gives the dates of confirmation by the English Government, while I have given, as historically more important, the dates of erection by the Local Legislature. The dates of confirmation, when different from those of erection are as follows;—the eight original counties, 1786; Carleton, 1832; Victoria, 1850; Restigouche, 1838; Gloucester and Kent, 1827.