Division

Mr. Gilles Grégoire (Lapointe): Mr. Speaker, I should like to say a few words on the amendment. I think I have a right to do that. We have been listening to the hon. member for Pontiac-Témiscamingue—

If no one has called it 10.30 yet, I would like to speak on the amendment. Could you not refrain from calling it 10.30, Mr. Speaker, so that I may speak on this amendment—

An hon. Member: Question.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order.

[Text]

If any one of the members wants to call it 10.30, of course we will not be in a position to continue. We are continuing after 10.30 only because we have the unanimous agreement of all members to continue this procedure. If an individual member wishes at this time to call it 10.30, we will adjourn this debate.

Mr. Barnett: Was it not implicit, in the unanimous consent that the house continue to sit for a few minutes, that there would be the vote taken as soon as the hon. member for Pontiac-Témiscamingue (Mr. Martineau) had concluded his remarks?

[Translation]

Mr. Grégoire: Mr. Speaker, we are all set to vote. A little later on, we shall have an opportunity to reply to the silly remarks of the hon. member for Pontiac-Témiscamingue.

[Text]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Gauthier) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Beaulé Bélanger Boutin Caouette Dionne Gauthier Grégoire Messrs: Langlois Laprise Latulippe Perron Plourde Rondeau—13.

NAYS

Messrs:

Aiken Alkenbrack Balcer Barnett Basford Batten [Mr. Martineau.] Béchard Beer Benson Berger Bigg Blouin

Brown Byrne Cadieux (Terrebonne) Cameron (High Park) Cantelon Cantin Cardin Carter Churchill Cooper Côté (Chicoutimi) Côté (Longueuil) (Longueuil) Cowan Crossman Crouse Cyr Danforth Davis Deachman Dinsdale Doucett Douglas Drouin Drury Ethier Fairweather Fane Favreau Fisher Forest Francis Gelber Gordon Gray Gundlock Hahn Hales Harley Herridge Honey Horner (The Battlefords) Stewart Irvine Jewett, Miss Kelly Kennedy Kindt Knowles Korchinski Laing Lambert Laniel Leboe Lessard (St. Henry) Legault Macdonald Mackasey MacNaught McIntosh McLean (Charlotte) McMillan McNulty Madill

Martin (Essex East) Martineau Matheson Monteith Moore More Moreau Morison Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Mullally Nesbitt Nicholson Nielsen Nowlan O'Keefe Orlikow Ormiston Otto Pascoe Patterson Paul Pennell Pickersgill Pigeon Pilon Prittie Pugh Rapp Ricard Robichaud Rochon Rock Rouleau Ryan Rynard Simpson Skoreyko Slogan Smallwood Starr Tardif Temple Thomas Thompson Tremblay Tucker Turner Vincent Wahn Walker Watson (Assiniboia) Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie) Webb Webster Weichel Whelan Winch Winkler Woolliams-135.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

Some hon. Members: Question.

[Translation]

Mr. Ricard: Mr. Speaker, may I call it half past ten?