

Notes on the Commonwealth

Commonwealth Secretariat

March 1976

STAFF OF THE COMMONWEALTH SECRETARIAT (1)

The Commonwealth Secretary-General, who is appointed by Heads of Government collectively, is the head of the Commonwealth Secretariat. He has direct access to Heads of Government. Mr. Shridath Ramphal, formerly Minister for Foreign Affairs and Justice in Guyana, was selected as the second Secretary-General in 1975 for a five-year term.

He is assisted by two Deputy Secretaries-General and two Assistant Secretaries-General. One Deputy Secretary-General has general responsibilities, which include international relations, administration, and conference services. The other has primary responsibility for economic matters. One Assistant Secretary-General is concerned with education, youth and such other areas of functional co-operation as health, science, and law. The other is Managing Director of the Commonwealth Fund for Technical Co-operation (CFTC), responsible to the Secretary-General for conducting the day-to-day operations of the Fund.

Each division of the Secretariat has a Director and there are also sections headed by the Medical Adviser and the Scientific Adviser. The Youth Division administers the Commonwealth Youth Programme. The CFTC has divisions administering the Fund's programmes, headed by Directors or Assistant Directors, and there is a headquarters Technical Assistance Group.

The Agreed Memorandum on the Commonwealth Secretariat, approved by Heads of Government at their meeting in 1965, states that 'the paramount consideration in the selection of staff and in the determination of conditions of service will be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity, due regard being paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible within the Commonwealth'. Appointments are made by the Secretary-General in the light of these considerations.

Staff in the Secretariat number 291 in all. This total embraces 75 for the CFTC and 14 for the Commonwealth Youth Programme, the remaining 202 comprising other functional divisions of the Secretariat and the Secretary-General's office. Staff members include nationals of the majority of Commonwealth member countries.

The Agreed Memorandum emphasises that 'all members of the Secretariat, whatever their origin, must be strictly impartial in the discharge of their functions and place loyalty to the Commonwealth as a whole above all other considerations'.

A list of the senior staff of the Secretariat follows overleaf.

(1) Available in English only from the Commonwealth Secretariat