

From St. John's on the Atlantic to Vancouver on the Pacific, Canada measures 5,186 kilometres; from the polar ice cap to Point Pelee in the southernmost part of the province of Ontario, it measures 4,626 kilometres.

With an area of 9,976,139 square kilometres, Canada is the largest country in the western hemisphere and the second largest in the world. Only the Soviet Union spans more territory.

The sheer size of the country can be further illustrated when we consider that:

- it is bounded by three oceans: the Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic – and has the longest coastline of any country in the world;
- 2) it is the only country in the western hemisphere to span six time zones: Newfoundland, Atlantic, Eastern, Central, Mountain and Pacific;
- 3) the Atlantic coast port of Halifax is closer to South America than to Ottawa, the capital of Canada.

The ten provinces and two territories share this vast expanse unequally. They range in size from the 2,000 square kilometres of Prince Edward Island to the 1.2 million square kilometres of the Northwest Territories.

Climate

There are five major climatic zones:

- 1) The Arctic zone includes most of the Yukon and Northwest Territories. Mean January temperature at Whitehorse is -18.9°C while the July mean is 14.1°C. Annual precipitation is 26.03 cm.
- The Northern zone covers northern Alberta,
 Saskatchewan and Manitoba, and most of Ontario,
 Quebec and the Atlantic provinces. Temperatures and