#### Government Orders

Call in the members.

The House divided on the Motion No. 1 which was negatived on the following division:

## (Division No. 88)

# YEAS

Allmand Arseneault Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Benjamin Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Boudria Catterall Clancy Crawford Duhamel Flis Fulton Gardine Gray (Windsor West) Hovdebo Kaplan Keyes MacDonald (Dartmouth) Manley Martin (Lasalle-Émard) Mifflin Murphy Robinson Samson Taylor Venne Young (Beaches-Woodbine)-57

Anderson Atkinson Beatty Blenkarn Brightwell Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Yellowhead) Clifford Cooper Corbett Conture de Cotret Desjardins Edwards Ferland Greene Halliday Hawkes Hogue James Joncas Kourv Lewis Lopez Marin McCreath McDougall (St. Paul's) McLean Monteith Nicholson O'Kurley Pronovost Ricard Robitaille Saint-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sobeski Sparrow Tremblay (Lotbinière) Valcourt Vankoughnet

Anawak Assad Barrett Bellemare Berger Bla Blaikie Breaugh Chrétien Copps Dingwall Edmonston Foster Gagliano Gauthier Hopkins Hunter Karpoff Langdon (Essex-Windsor) MacLaren Marchi McCurdy Mitchell Prud'homme Rocheleau Skelly (Comox-Alberni) Tohin Young (Acadie-Bathurst)

## NAYS

Members Andre Attewell Biornson Bouchard (Roberval) Cardiff Charest Clark (Brandon-Souris) Cole Corbeil Côté Crosbie (St. John's West) Della Noce Duplessis Epp Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Guilbault Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hockin Hudon Johnson Kempling Landry Loiselle MacDougall (Timiskaming) Martin (Lincoln) McDermid McKnight Merrithew Moore Oberle Plourde Redway Richardson Rov-Arcelin Schneider Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Soetens Stevenson Turner (Halton-Peel) Van De Walle Vincent

Weiner Winegard — 85 Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

### PAIRED-MEMBERS

nil/aucun

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): I declare Motion No. 1 lost. Therefore, Motion No. 2 is negatived.

**Mr. Gagliano:** Mr. Speaker, I believe you will find there is unanimous consent for applying the results of the vote that was just taken to Motion No. 3 and the vote on Motion No. 4 to Motions Nos. 5 and 6.

#### [English]

**Mr. Hawkes:** The list we have would indicate it is Motions Nos. 3 and 4. They are not on the Order Paper because they were done by unanimous consent earlier this day. I just want to make sure that these are the last two votes, at any rate, in terms of amendments to this bill.

**Mr. Nowlan:** On the same point of order, I do not want to impede but I did not vote either for or against because I did not have the amendment before me and I really was not sure what the devil I was voting on. If it is to implement the budget in a general way, then perhaps I would be able to take a position. I would like to agree to the other amendments if I knew what they were. I did not vote the first time because I did not have the amendment and I did not know what I would be voting on. If you could tell me what the vote is, what the amendments are, then I will go along with a vote.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): Motion No. 3 of the member for Essex—Windsor moved that Bill C-20 be amended by deleting clause 7. Motion No. 4 of the member for Essex—Windsor moved that Bill C-20 be amended by deleting clause 8.