Alkenbrack

Division

Mr. Thomas M. Bell (Saint John-Lancaster): The Parliamentary Secretary made a very high minded speech about the virtue of ing division: our national parks, but he was tempted to deal again with the matter of leases. Once again, he tried to leave the impression that an action of a previous government is now being terminated. He referred to the hon, member for Brandon-Souris (Mr. Dinsdale) on two or three occasions but he did not deal with the pertinent part of his comments which were put on the record of Hansard for Wednesday, January 21, at Page 2627. The hon. member said the following in dealing with the letter, and the implications thereof, in a question of privilege:

The letter...merely outlines the orderly plan that was adopted in 1962 for the development of national parks in western Canada based on the prinof wise management and multi-use that emerged out of the Resources for Tomorrow conference in 1961. It carefully preserves the right of perpetuity in the original leases.

That statement went unchallenged at the time. I hope the committee will look into that statement and will challenge the implication it contains and which were left by the Parliamentary Secretary and the minister.

I think we should have a vote now. I am curious how the Alberta government members will vote on this measure. I do not think we need to deal any further with it, but as one who had some responsibility for the national parks for 15 years I believe that the government is making a grave mistake in moving into the day-to-day activities of our national parks through a leasehold corporation. I think they will regret the day they started this whole idea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question? The question is on the amendment of the hon. member for Edmonton West (Mr. Lambert). All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Lambert) which was negatived on the follow-

YEAS

Messrs:

MacLean

Asselin McCleave Barnett McCutcheon Bell McGrath Benjamin Brewin Burton Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Coates Code Comeau Crouse Danforth Downey Fairweather Flemming Forrestall Gilbert Gleave Grills Gundlock Hales Harding Horner Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lewis Lundrigan Valade MacEwan Winch MacInnis (Cape Breton-Woolliams East Richmond) Yewchuk-66.

McIntosh McKinley Mather Mazankowski Monteith Moore Muir (Lisgar) Nesbitt Nowlan Nystrom Peters Ricard Ritchie Ryan Rynard Saltsman Schumacher Scott Simpson Skoberg Skoreyko Southam Stewart (Marquette)
Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley)

NAYS

Messrs:

Anderson Davis Badanai Deachman Barrett De Bané Basford Dionne Beaudoin Douglas (Assiniboia) Béchard Drury Beer Duquet Benson Émard Blouin Forest Borrie Forget Breau Foster Brown Francis Buchanan Gauthier Caccia Gendron Cadieux (Labelle) Gervais Cafik Gibson Cantin Godin Chrétien Goode Clermont Gover Cobbe Groos Comtois Guay (St. Boniface) Corbin Côté (Longueuil) Harries Côté (Richelieu) Hogarth Crossman

Howard (Okanagan Cullen Boundary)