National Gallery to lose Jean Boggs

Dr. Jean Sutherland Boggs, who has been Director of the National Gallery since June 1, 1966, will leave her post on July 1 to take up a senior professorship at Harvard University.

In offering her resignation, Dr. Boggs expressed regret at leaving the National Gallery after so many years, but said that she wished to devote herself more fully to the study and teaching of art history without the administrative responsibilities the direction of the National Gallery entailed. To be offered a tenured position at an institution of the stature of Harvard, she added, attracted her professionally; she regarded it as an honour for Canada as well as for herself.

An eventful decade

The National Gallery's ten years under the direction of Dr. Boggs have been eventful ones. Especially in developing the field of Canadian art, her contribution has been enormous; it can be measured not only by the outstanding quality of the exhibitions at the



Jean Sutherland Boggs, photographed with her book, The National Gallery of Canada, published in 1971.

National Gallery but also by the large number of able curators Dr. Boggs has attracted to the Gallery and the increased resources she has obtained for study and research. The administration has been consolidated, publications expanded and a program of national activities developed for all parts of Canada, so that the Gallery's influence throughout the country and its service to both official language groups have grown considerably. Dr. Bogg's book The National Gallery of Canada, published in 1971, documents the growth of the Gallery's collection since its earliest days in the last decades of the nineteenth century. The quality and number of the works of art acquired for the National Gallery collection on the initiative of Dr. Boggs have resulted in the most significant collection of Canadian art in the world and Canada's most important collection of Western European art from the Middle Ages to the present day. Dr. Boggs has also played a major role in developing the architectural program for the use of Canadian architects who are competing for the new Gallery building to be erected in the early 1980s.

Canada's national museums

The National Museums of Canada is a Crown corporation created by Act of Parliament in 1968 to ensure the most effective use of federal funds to build and support a new national museums organization. According to the National Museums Act, "the purposes of the Corporation are to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein throughout Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof". The Corporation headquarters are in Ottawa.

In 1972, the Federal Government announced an additional federal museums policy, the object of which was to make the artifacts and collections representing the Canadian heritage as accessible as possible to Canadians in every province and in the territories.

The Corporation is presided over by a Board of Trustees composed of 14 members from various walks of life and from most parts of Canada. It meets quarterly, at least once a year in Ottawa, and at least twice a year in the regions. Its role is to formulate policies for the Corporation and to ensure that these are carried out in keeping with regulations laid down by Parliament and the Government. It establishes its own procedures and may appoint subcommittees composed of its own members and, for some purposes, other members, to assist in its work.

Secretary-General

The chief executive officer of the Corporation, the Secretary-General, who is a deputy minister appointed by the Governor-in-Council, is responsible for the co-ordination and the application of policies laid down by the Government and the Board of Trustees, for the direct management of the Corporation's finances and personnel, and for the administration of three general function areas — planning, national programs and communications. All common services emanate from "responsibility centres" in the office of the Secretary-General.

The National Museums of Canada comprises, under a single administration, the nation's four federal museums: the National Gallery of Canada: the National Museum of Natural Sciences; the National Museum of Man, which includes the Canadian War Museum; and the National Museum of Science and Technology, which includes the National Aeronautical Collection. Each museum director is appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the Board of Trustees, and has, on behalf of the Board and with the assistance of a visiting committee, the day-to-day direction and management of his museum. Each director is also responsible for professional standards, the custody, preservation, and development of collections, and research and scholarly activities.

Since 1972, the Corporation, with the advice of a Consultative Committee recruited from all parts of Canada, has provided valuable financial assistance and services to non-federal museums across Canada. To date, approximately \$30 million has been distributed in various types of financial assistance. A cross-Canada network has been established for sharing knowledge and skills to develop programs, to expand services, and to strengthen and publicize Canada's cultural heritage throughout the nation and abroad.