The 15 winners are: Ault Foods Limited, Etobicoke, Ont.; Baymag, Calgary, Alta.; Canadian Helicopters, St. John's, Nfld.; CHAMPION ROAD MACHINERY LIMITED, Goderich, Ont.; Clearwater Fine Foods Inc., Bedford, N.S.; Geac Computer Corporation Limited, Markham, Ont.; Imax Systems Corporation, Toronto, Ont.; INTERA Technologies Ltd., Calgary, Alta.; MacMillan Bloedel Limited, Custom Processing Division, Richmond, B.C.; Noranda Sales Corporation Ltd., Toronto, Ont.; NovAtel Communications, Ltd., Calgary, Alta.; POSITRON Industries Inc., Montreal, P.Q.; ROWNTREE FARMS LIMITED, Brampton, Ont.; Sabian Ltd., Meductic, N.B., and Universal Paper Export Co. Ltd., Montreal, P.Q. More than 250 companies from across Canada competed for the award.

At the same ceremony, seven previous winners of the Canada Export Award were honoured with citations in recognition of their continuing excellence in exporting. They are: Babcock & Wilcox Canada, Cambridge, Ont.; CAE Electronics Ltd., Saint-Laurent, P.Q.; Canparts Automotive International Ltd., Cambridge, Ont.; Canpotex Limited, Saskatoon, Sask.; Dow Chemical Canada Inc., Western Canada Division, Fort Saskatchewan, Alta.; FAG Bearings Limited, Stratford, Ont., and Stanley Associates Engineering Ltd., Edmonton, Alta.

The ceremony was the first major event of Canada Export Trade Month, an annual month-long program of activities held to stimulate awareness of the importance of export trade to Canada. Canada Export Trade Month is co-ordinated by the Department of External Affairs and run jointly by a number of federal and provincial government departments, with the co-operation of private organizations and companies across Canada.

There have been 80 winners of the Canada Export Award since the program started in 1983. The winning companies have come from all parts of Canada and from a cross-section of Canada's exporting community. Exporting excellence, as judged by an independent panel, is the program's single most important criteria.

The members of the panel were: Mrs. Jeanne Geldart, President Atlantic Provinces Chamber of Commerce (Moncton); Mrs. Vanessa Tourangeau, President, Canedex (Scarborough); Robert Q. Phillips, President, Cansulex Ltd. (Vancouver); F.R. Petrie, Past President, Canadian Exporters' Association (Ottawa); Ms. Doreen Wallace-Ruso, Manager, Canadian Manufacturers' Association