Table 1

Canadian participation in multilateral arms control forums, 1945-1987

- January 1946: The Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) was established under the United Nations Security Council, composed of the members of the Security Council plus Canada when not a member of the Security Council itself.
- February 1947: The Commission for Conventional Armament (CCA) was established under the Security Council composed of the members of the Security Council plus Canada.
- January 1952: The AEC and CCA were dissolved and replaced by a single Disarmament Commission (DC) under the Security Council composed of the members of the Security Council plus Canada. In 1957, the DC's size was increased by 14 members and, in 1959, it was further increased to include all members of the United Nations (UN). The DC did not meet after 1965. At its 1978 Special Session the United Nations General Assembly re-established the DC as a deliberative body and it now meets for about three weeks each year.
- April 1954: The DC established a five-power sub-committee composed of Canada, France, the UK, the USA and the USSR. This sub-committee met in private and periodically reported to the DC and United Nations General Assembly.
- July 1958: Conference was held of experts from four Western and four Eastern bloc countries on methods of detecting nuclear tests.
- November 1958: Conference of Experts on Prevention of Surprise Attack, composed of representatives from five Western and five Eastern bloc countries, was held.
- September 1959: Ten-Nation Disarmament Committee (five Western and five Eastern bloc countries) was established. The TNDC was not a UN body although a personal representative of the UN Secretary-General attended. The Conference of the TNDC met from March to June 1960.