thin paper approximately two and one-half by two and one-half inches in size, on a light background, and showing full front view of the subject without head covering. United States Consular Offices are established in the following Canadian cities: - Calgary, Edmonton, Fort William, Frederiction, Halifax, Hamilton, Kenora, Montreal, Niagara Falls, Ottawa, Port Arthur, Quebec, Regina, Saint John, Sarnia, St. Stephen, Toronto, Vancouver, Victoria, Windsor, Winnipeg, Yarmouth.

There is no fee for a temporary visitor's visa issued to Canadian nationals. The fee for a visa for a British subject who does not have Canadian domicile as defined by the Canadian Immigration Act is two dollars in United States currency.

Discussions which have been proceeding with the United States authorities in Washington indicate that the only exceptions which have been made to the general regulation are those in favour of commuters who are holders of border identification cards issued by the United States Immigration authorities and Canadians passing from one part of Canadian territory to another in direct transit through the United States by means of a transportation line which runs through the territory or waters of both countries. Any such persons will not require either passports or visas. To avoid disruption in essential services, arrangements have also been made to postpone the visa regulation till July 15th for the operating personnel of railway trains, aircraft, vessels and buses.

O

W.L.M. King Papers, Memoranda and Notes, 1940-1950, MG 26 J 4, Volume 400, pages C281446-C282131

PUBLIC ARCHIVES ARCHIVES PUBLIQUES CANADA