The same was then read by the Clerk, as follows:-

THE SENATE.

COMMITTEE ROOM No. 28, THURSDAY, 29th April, 1897.

The Committee on Divorce beg leave to make their Second Report, as follows:—
With respect to the Bill (E) intituled: "An Act for the relief of Adeline Myrtle
Tuckett Lawry," evidence has been adduced before Your Committee as to the service
personally upon the party from whom the divorce is sought, of a copy of the Notice of
the Second Reading of the said Bill, and of a copy of the Bill.

Your Committee find that such service has been made personally upon the said

party and that it is regular and sufficient.

All which is respectfully submitted.

JAS. ROBT. GOWAN, Chairman.

The Honourable Mr. Gowan moved, seconded by the Honourable Mr. Mills, That the said Report be adopted.

Which being objected to,

The question of concurrence being put thereon, the same was, on a division, resolved in the affirmative, and

Ordered, accordingly.

The Honourable Mr. Scott rose in his place and informed the House of the death of the Honourable Francis Béchard, Senator for the Electoral Division of de Lorimier, in the Province of Quebec.

The House, according to Order, proceeded to the consideration of the 1st, 3rd and remaining paragraphs of the further Report of the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session.

On motion of the Honourable Mr. Scott, seconded by the Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, it was

Resolved, That the Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs Allan, Almon, Baker, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Drummond, Gowan, C.M.G., Hingston, Sir William, Kt., Landry, Masson, MacInnes (Burlington), Poirier, Power, Reesor, Ross, Scott, and Wark, be a Committee on the Library of Parliament.

On motion of the Honourable Mr. Scott, seconded by the Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, it was

Ordered, That the Honourable Messieurs Aikins, Bellerose, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McDonald (Cape Breton), McKay, Mills, and Prowse, be a Committee on Standing Orders.

On motion of the Honourable Mr. Scott, seconded by the Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, it was

Ordered, That the Honourable Messieurs Aikins, Allan, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Casgrain, Clemow, Cochrane, Cox, De Blois, Drummond, Ferguson, Forget, Lewin, MacInnes (Burlington), McMillan, Miller, O'Brien, Primrose, Robitaille, Sanford, Scott, Smith, Sir Frank, Kt., Thibaudeau (De la Valliére), Villeneuve, Wark, and Wood, be a Committee on Banking and Commerce.

The Honourable Mr. Scott moved, seconded by the Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, That the Honourable Messieurs Allan, Almon, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Boulton, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Clemow, Cochrane, Cox, Dickey, Kirchhoffer, Landry,