## SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM - OECD

subject. The CSTP approves the mandates and work of its subsidiary bodies and recommends reports, studies and conferences etc. to the OECD Council for approval. Canada is represented on the Council by Ambassador Suzanne Hurtubise and on the CSTP by Marie Tobin, Director General, Innovation Policy Branch, Industry Canada. The CSTP meets twice a year.

The four CSTP subsidiary bodies, which also normally meet twice a year, and the current Canadian heads of delegation are as follows:

- Working Party of National Experts on S&T Indicators (NESTI) Fred Gault, Director, Services, Science and Technology Division, Statistics. Canada.
- Working Party on Biotechnology John Jaworski, Senior Industry Development Officer, Life Sciences Branch, Industry Canada.
- Global Science Forum Marshall Moffat, Director, Knowledge Infrastructure Directorate, Innovation Policy, Industry Canada, and Nigel Lloyd, Director General, Research Grants, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council.
- Working Party on Innovation and Technology Policy (TIP) Jeanne Inch, Director, Marketplace Innovation Directorate, Innovation Policy Branch, Industry Canada.

Except for NESTI, which is attended by Statistics Canada, Industry Canada has the policy lead for Canada, in cooperation with the interested science-based departments and agencies. As for most OECD bodies, however, Canadian instructions and major policy positions are coordinated through DFAIT. Instructions are normally provided in advance, and meeting reports are issued via the Permanent Delegation of Canada.

There is increasing activity between meetings, both between member economies and the Secretariat and among interested members, through E-mail communications and various limited electronic discussion groups. The new Internet-based "Olisnet" electronic distribution system for official OECD documents, which came into effect in 1999, facilitates access by government users. There are four non-member country observers to the CSTP, which have virtually the same privileges as full members, namely, South Africa, Russia, the Slovak Republic and Israel. The European Commission participates in all OECD activities by special arrangement. In addition, there is increasing cooperation with the private sector and civil society, through both formal and informal channels, including special consultations and briefings (recently on biotechnology), participation by invitation at committee meetings and through the official representatives to the OECD for business (the Business and Industry Advisory Committee - BIAC) and labour (the Trade Union Advisory Committee - TUAC).

OECD Secretariat organization and support for S&T

Secretariat support for the CSTP and its working parties comes mainly from some 30 professional S&T staff within the Directorate for Science, Technology and Industry (DSTI), under Director Risaburo Nezu (Japanese) and Deputy Director Michael Oborne (American). Daniel Malkin (French), heads the DSTI Science and Technology Policy Division, the main focus of OECD S&T work, while Andrew Wyckoff (American) heads the Economic Analysis and Statistics Division which provides statistical support and analysis to both