25th Anniversary of the Agency for Cultural and Technical Co-operation

The Agency for Cultural and Technical Co-operation (ACCT), is celebrating the 25th anniversary of its creation at the signing of the Niamey Treaty in Niger on March 20, 1970. The treaty brought together 21 countries using French as a common language for the purpose of building a better, more integrated world through the ACCT.

Commonly known as the agency, the ACCT now includes 44 countries and governments (including Canada, with member status, and Quebec and New Brunswick, with participating-government status). The ACCT seeks to achieve mutual co-operation among its members in major areas like sustainable development. Over the years, the agency has become the cornerstone of the Francophonie multilaterally.

Without taking the place of existing methods of co-operation, the agency aims to be the channel for a new solidarity between industrialized and developing countries. The ACCT also helps member countries to promote and spread their cultures; and it fosters better understanding between the peoples of these countries.

The Secretary-General of the ACCT is Jean-Louis Roy, a Canadian from Quebec. Mr. Roy was elected for four years in December 1989 and renewed for a second term at the Bamako ministerial conference in Mali in December 1993.

To celebrate the agency's 25th anniversary and to honor the Francophonie world wide, several celebrations and exhibitions have been held in all member countries, especially in France, where the ACCT has its headquarters.

On March 20, 1995, the International Day of the Francophonie, Canada's Foreign Affairs Minister André Ouellet, accompanied by ACCT Secretary-General Roy and Canada Post Corporation President Georges Clermont, unveiled the model for the Canadian stamp issued to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the ACCT.