with the County of Carleton, which was included in the District of Dalhousie. But at no time were Osgoode and Gloucester separated from Russell for electoral purposes.

to

er

d

11

d

T

f

1

f

f

In 1867 the British North America Act continued the County of Russell with its six townships as they existed in 1798. The several Redistribution Acts of 1872, 1882, 1892 and 1903 followed the British North America Act in leaving the townships and boundaries of Russell ur disturbed.

## New 'inburgh'

It is true that about twenty-five years ago New Edinburgh, which forms part of the Township of Gloucester, was attached to the City of Ottawa for Municipal purposes and has since been known as Rideau Ward. But in the Redistribution of 1892 and again in 1903 it was retained in Gloucester for electoral purposes and it still remains there.

## A Word about Carleton

In contrast with the unbroken continuity of Russell, it may be pointed out that in 1798—when Russell stood precisely as it stands to-day—the County of Carleton, as we know it, did not exist.

Down to the time of the Union of Upper and Lower Canada in 1841, the territory now comprising Carleton County was attached to the surrounding districts and had no separate Municipal existence. In fact, Carleton was not organized for Municipal purposes until the end of the year 1842, so that it was several years after that date before the condition arose under which the assessments of Osgoode and Gloucester were first paid to the Municipal Council of Carleton.

## Russell of To-day

From the historical point of view, therefore, the record is altogether in favor of the claim that Russell shoul be con-