Rev. Dr. De Sola made some remarks on the reports submitted, and urged the necessity of trying to popularize the papers read at the monthly meetings and the Somerville lectures.

Dr. J. Baker Edwards asked if any arrangements had been made for holding a field day shortly, and pointed out the importance of continuing these pleasant social gatherings, as well as the desirability of trying to interest ladies in the work of the Society.

It was moved by L. A. H. Latour, seconded by H. Rose, and resolved:

"That the reports just read be adopted, printed and distributed to the members."

On motion of Dr. De Sola, seconded by Dr. J. Baker Edwards, it was unanimously resolved:

"That Dr. T. Sterry Hunt, F.R.S., be elected an honorary member of the Society."

It was moved by His Lordship the Metropolitan, seconded by James Ferrier, jun., and resolved:

"That the thanks of the Society be voted to Principal Dawson for the preparation of the annual address."

The following resolution, having been moved by G. L. Marler, and seconded by R. McLachlan, was adopted unanimously.

"That the Rule relating to the election of officers be suspended, and that Principal Dawson be elected President."

Similar resolutions having been duly moved, seconded and adopted, the following officers were re-elected by acclamation:

Treasurer—James Ferrier, jun.

Cor. Secretary-Prof. P. J. Darey, M.A., B.C.L.

Scientific Curator and Rec. Secretary—J. F. Whiteaves, F.G.S., &c.

Messrs. G. L. Marler and Prof. P. J. Darey having been appointed scrutineers, the balloting for the remaining officers was then proceeded with, and the following results were announced:

Vice-Presidents—Rev. A. De Sola, LL.D.; Sir W. E. Logan, LL.D., F.R.S.; G. Barnston; C. Smallwood, M.D., LL.D., D.C.L.; A. R. C. Selwyn, F.G.S.; E. Billings, F.G.S.; His Lordship the Bishop of Montreal and Metropolitan; C. Robb.