## MISSION DESIGNATION, COMMON SERVICES CATEGORIZATION AND HARDSHIP LEVELS

Diplomatic missions are established in accordance with the provisions of the *Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations* 1961 and the *Vienna Convention on Consular Relations*. Mission designations, common services categorization and hardship levels are terms used to characterize missions abroad.

## **Mission Designations**

**Embassies:** These offices, each led by a head of mission (HOM), are located in the capitals of foreign countries. The full range of services, including consular services, is generally offered. For example, Canada has embassies in Washington, D.C. and in Tokyo.

**High Commissions:** These offices fulfill the same functions as embassies but are located in the capital cities of Commonwealth countries. For example, Canada has high commissions in London and Canberra.

## Program Offices of the Embassy/High Commission:

These offices are located in capital cities. They are program specific (e.g. DFATD's Trade Program or Development Program) and report to an embassy or high commission located in another country. For example, there is a program office in La Paz, in Managua and in Bratislava.

Offices of the Embassy/High Commission: These offices are located in non-capital cities in a country where there is a Canadian embassy or high commission. They are established to support DFATD's Trade Program. For example, there is an Office of the Embassy in Porto Alegre, in Kolkata and in Johannesburg.

**Representative Offices:** These are non-diplomatic offices located in the main city of a non-recognized political entity. The Canadian Trade Office in Taipei offers a full range of services, including consular services. The Representative Office in Ramallah offers a limited range of consular services.

Multilateral or Permanent Missions: These are diplomatic offices located in the same city as the headquarters of major international organizations. They do not provide consular services to Canadians (except for the Permanent Mission of Canada in Geneva). For example, Canada has a Permanent Mission at the United Nations (UN) in New York and at the Organization of American States (OAS) in Washington, D.C.

Consulates General: These are offices located in major non-capital cities. The HOM is accredited with a limited territory within a state. They generally offer the full range of services, including consular services. For example, there are consulate generals in Los Angeles, São Paulo and Shanghai.

**Consulates:** These are offices similar to consulates general. Although they do not offer the full range of services, they do offer some consular services. For example, there are consulates in Dubai and Guadalajara.

**Consular Agencies:** These are dedicated consular offices located in non-capital cities in a country where there is a Canadian embassy/high commission. For example, there are consular agencies in Cancun, Playa Del Carmen and Puerto Vallarta (Mexico).

Consulates headed by an Honorary Consul: Canada has close to 100 points of service headed by persons who are appointed by the Government of Canada and are designated as an honorary consul in accordance with the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations. These offices are located in both capital and non-capital cities and provide primarily consular services. For example, there is a consulate headed by an honorary consul in Milan, Italy, Asunción (Paraguay) and Douala (Cameroon).