The room never looked prettier than it did last night. It had been tastefully decorated with the colors of the division, mottoes, ferns, palms and red carnations. Over the desk were the words "Welcome" in large gold letters on a blue back ground, and on each side "1848" and "1898." Among the mottoes were "love, purity and fidelity," and "We thrive in Nova Scotia." Mr. Wm. Murray, who is at present one of the oldest members of the division, he having been associated with it for 48 years, acted as chairman. Letters of regret for being absent were read from Rev. H. D. deBlois, G. W. P., Premier Murray and Mayor Stephen, J. C. Barratt and J. H. Barnstead.

Mayflower Division was organized in 1848, on the 9th of February, the following being the charter applicants : E. A. Crawley, D. D., R. M Barratt, Jas. W. Munroe, Jas Gordon, W. A. Hendry, Jas. C. Barratt, John R. Willis, John Miller, Alpin Grant, Edward Barnstead, C. A. Waterman, Thos. Bennett, Alex. Simson, A. Fraser, John Buckpitt, J. K. Rouselle, J. Willoughby, Wm. Muir, H. D. Barratt.

Of this number six are still slive, and two of them, Alpin Grant and Wm. Muir, were present last evening, Rev. Dr. Crawley was the first Worth Patriarch of Mayflower, the late R. M. Barratt the first Worthy Associate, and Dr. Young, of Windsor, the first Treasurer. The Division has met with lots of adversity during its fifty years' existence but was never discouraged. It had 82 members in its first 12 months, and then dropped to 63; in 1851 it went up to 94, dropping to 56 in 1852, and so on from year to year, some time gaining and again losing. During the first ten years 600 were initiated. On the 31st December last the Division had 197 members and ten have since been added to this number. The above figures are taken from the excellent sketch read by Bro. R. T. Murray. Short speeches were made by Alpin Grant, Wm. Muir, and H. D. Blackadar, during the evening-