The hour for Private Members' Business expired.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. MacEachen, seconded by Mr. Marchand (Langelier),—That Bill C-242, An Act to amend the Senate and House of Commons Act, the Members of Parliament Retiring Allow-

ances Act, and An Act to make provision for the retirement of members of the Senate, be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure and Organization.

After further debate, the question being put on the said motion, it was agreed to on the following division:

Messrs.

4.77	,	TATESSIS.		
Allmand, Andras, Badanai, Baldwin, Barrett, Béchard, Beer, Bell, Blair, Blouin, Borrie, Boulanger, Breau, Buchanan, Cafik, Carter, Clermont, Cobbe, Comtois, Corbin, Corriveau, Crossman, Crouse, Cyr, Danson,	Éthier, Fairweather, Faulkner, Forest, Forget, Foster, Gendron, Gervais, Gibson, Gilbert, Gillespie, Guay (St. Boniface), Guay (Lévis), Guilbault, Hales, Hopkins, Howe, Isabelle, Jerome, Kaplan, Lachance, Laing (Vancouver South), Lambert (Edmonton West),	Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt), Laniel, Leblanc (Laurier), Lefebvre, Lessard (LaSalle), Loiselle, Lundrigan, MacEachen, MacLean, McBride, McCleave, McCutcheon, McIlraith, McIntosh, McNulty, Major, Marceau, Marchand (Langelier), Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo), Marshall, NAYS Messrs.	Monteith, Moore, Munro, Murphy, Murta, Nesbitt, Noble, Noël, O'Connell, Olson, Orange, Osler, Ouellet, Paproski, Peddle, Pepin, Portelance, Prud'homme, Reid, Richard, Ryan, Smith (Northumberland- Miramichi),	Smith (Saint-Jean), Stanbury, Stanfield, Sulatycky, Thomas (Maisonneuve- Rosemont), Thomas (Moncton), Thompson (Red Deer), Tolmie, Trudel, Turner (London East), Turner (Ottawa- Carleton), Wahn, Walker, Watson, Weatherhead, Whiting, Woolliams, Yewchuk—109.
Beaudoin, Benjamin, Brewin, Broadbent, Burton, Caouette, Dionne,	Douglas, Fortin, Gauthier, Gleave, Godin, Howard (Skeena),	Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre), Lambert (Bellechasse), Laprise, Latulippe, Lewis,	Mather, Matte, Nystrom, Orlikow, Peters, Rodrigue, Rose,	Rowland, Saltsman, Schumacher, Skoberg, Tétrault, Thomson (Battleford- Kindersley)—31.

Accordingly, the said bill was read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure and Organization.

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.15 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House 24168-34½

pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Brewin for Mr. Skoberg on the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.

Mr. Nesbitt for Mr. Dinsdale on the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

Mr. McQuaid for Mr. La Salle on the Special Joint Committee on the Constitution of Canada.

At 10.32 o'clock p.m., the House adjourned until tomorrow at 2.00 o'clock p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 2(1).