```
May 13, 1929
May 28, 1929
                   N.A. Robertson
                   J.E. Read (resigned to become Justice
                         at World Court, 1946).
                   K.F. Crowther (resigned December 1,1932)
Aug. 1, 1929
Oct. 1, 1929
                   P.E. Renaud
                   A. Rive
Oct.13, 1930
Oct. 13, 1930
May 1, 1931
                   H.F. Feaver
                   G.P. Vanier (retired . . . )
Dec.15, 1932
                   H. Allard
Aug.28, 1934
                   L. Mayrand
Aug.28, 1934
Aug.28, 1934
Sept.1, 1934
                   C.S.A. Ritchie
                   R.M. Macdonnell
                   L.C. Christie (rejoined) (died 1941)
                    F.M. Stanton (resigned Nov.1,1939)
         1936
                    J.W. Pickersgill (appointed to
Oct. 14, 1937
                         Cabinet June 12, 1953)
Dec.8, 1937
                    J.A. Chapdelaine
                    M.H. Wershof
Dec.15, 1937
                    J.A. Gibson (resigned)
July 19, 1938
July 27, 1938
Jan. 5, 1939
                    E.B. Rogers
                    E.M. Reid
Sept.6,
                   T.A. Stone (rejoined)
         1939
                    C.F. Fraser (retired)
         1939
         1939
                    E.H. Norman (died 1956)
```

## Linguistic Distribution

There still remained a predominance of Englishorigin to French-origin personnel in the Department in
Ottawa. Though this was perhaps not so true in posts
abroad. Some reasons for this disproportion, in the
Civil Service generally, have been summarized by Prof.
Taylor Cole (The Canadian Bureaucracy") as follows:

"(1) the standards of the French-Canadian educational institutions were inadequate and did not train many for technical positions except law, medicine or theology; (2) practically all positions in the public service require some knowledge of English, whereas many

The U.K. and U.S.A. were obviously English-speaking posts and so were the High Commissioners' Office, in the Commonwealth. The Paris post was mostly manned by French Canadian staff, and was successively headed by M. Febre,, M. Roy, Gen. Vanier, M. Jean Desy, and M. Pierre Dupuy. Gen. LaFleche, Justice Turgeon, M. Vaillancourt were among French Canadian Heads of Mission; Dr. H. Laureys, Belgianborn, was another French-speaking Ambassador. (See Skilling,pp.267, 271.)