1945-50. For centuries, philosophers and statesmen advocated the union of European nations. The postwar movement towards unity arose from the suffering and devastation of the Second World War. Europeans were determined to prevent another conflict on the continent. A way had to be found to end the animosity between France and Germany, which had caused three wars in less than a century. Occupation or defeat had taught the Community's six founding members the dangers of unlimited national sovereignty.

The Marshall Plan, which began in 1948, gave Europe the first glimmer of hope that the dream of unity might be realized. Massive U.S. aid helped West European nations rebuild their war-torn economies. The Organization for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC), born as a result of the Marshall Plan, to which Canada also belonged, enabled these nations to administer the U.S. aid jointly. It was a first step towards economic unity in Europe.

The European Coal and Steel Community, Europe's first twentieth century attempt to pool economic resources under federal-type institutions, was launched on May 9, 1950. Inspired by the ideas of Jean Monnet, who had been responsible for the French national economic plan, and proposed by French Foreign Minister Robert Schuman, it was designed to lay the foundations of a "European federation" and unite France and Germany in a common endeavour. Pooling coal and steel resources in a large market under a common authority would create the de facto solidarity "indispensable to the preservation of peace". Belgium, Germany,

Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands accepted the French invitation. On April 18, 1951, the ECSC Treaty was signed in Paris.

In Canada and the United States, the ECSC was widely hailed as the first step toward a European federation on the North American models.

1950-58. Similar efforts during the Fifties to form defence and political communities, based on the ECSC's structure, failed, but the ECSC succeeded. The "Six" decided to apply the same approach to the entire European economy. A June 1-2, 1955, conference in Messina, Italy, produced plans for two new communities, the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community.

The ECSC had shown the advantages of a large market where goods could move as freely between Rome and Luxembourg as between Montreal and Vancouver. The EEC would extend this arrangement to all goods and agricultural products. Within Euratom, the Six would do joint research into a new source of fuel and would develop a common industrial base for the peaceful use of nuclear energy. Further "concrete achievements" would lead the Six towards the "ever-closer union among the European peoples" mentioned in the EEC Treaty's preamble.

1958-75. The Common Market was to be created in stages over 12 years. By July 1, 1968, 18 months ahead of the treaty timetable, the Community had achieved free trade in industrial goods and most farm products. The Six had eliminated tariffs on

intra-Community trade and had established a common tariff on imports from non-member countries. The policies that had not been completed when the transition period ended on December 31, 1969, are still being worked out.

During its emergence as an economic power, the Community demonstrated openness towards the outside world, signing trade and aid agreements with many developing countries and cutting tariffs within the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT). In the Kennedy Round of GATT talks that ended on May 15, 1967, industrial tariffs were reduced by an average of 35 to 40 per cent. In these negotiations, the Community "spoke with a single voice", as it had in the 1960-61 Dillon Round.

In addition to its economic accomplishments, the Community has brought about a new relation between member countries, extending into fields not specifically covered by the treaties. Thus, at their "summit" meeting in The Hague on December 1 and 2, 1969, the six heads of state and government agreed to move from customs union to full economic and monetary union. They reaffirmed their commitment to a united Europe and began political consultations that would lead to frequent summit meetings and common foreign policy stands. They also agreed to open membership negotiations with Britain, Ireland, Denmark and Norway.

On January 22, 1972, the ten nations signed the Treaty of Accession, which gave the Community three new members on January 1, 1973; Norway's voters rejected the terms