Committee, which were not resolved during 1960. As a result, it has been impossible for the Committee to assemble and begin its work.

While the question of the peaceful uses of outer space was on the agenda of the fifteenth session, no debate took place and it was decided to transfer the item to the agenda of the sixteenth session.

Admission of New Members

In 1960, before the meeting of the fifteenth session of the General Assembly, the Security Council, which must make recommendations on all applications for membership in the Organization, approved the applications of the following 15 states: Cameroun, Togo, Federation of Mali, Malagasy Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Leopoldville), Somalia, Dahomey, Niger, Upper Volta, Ivory Coast, Gabon, Chad, Central African Republic and Cyprus.

Before the Assembly could take action on these applications the Federation of Mali, composed of the former French territories of Senegal and Sudan, was dissolved. Senegal applied for membership in its own name and later the Sudan, under the name of Mali Republic, also submitted its application for membership. As one of its first acts, on September 20, the Assembly approved the applications of 14 of the states recommended by the Security Council. After a meeting of the Security Council on the applications of the two constituent parts of the former Mali Federation, the Assembly, on September 28, approved the memberships of Senegal and the Mali Republic.

On achieving its independence on October 1, Nigeria made application for membership in the United Nations. After approval by the Security Council, the Assembly admitted Nigeria to membership on October 7.

The last member of the French community to achieve independence during 1960 was Mauritania. Morocco had placed an item on the agenda of the session concerning its claim to the territory of Mauritania as part of the traditional area of the Kingdom of Morocco. After its independence which came on November 28, Mauritania duly submitted its application for membership to the Security Council. At the same time as it considered the Mauritanian application, the Council had before it an application from Outer Mongolia. In view of the controversy which had been raised in the General Assembly by the Moroccan item, the Soviet Union took the opportunity to link the Mauritanian application with the controversial application of Outer Mongolia which had been rejected in past years. The result of the Security Council meeting on these two applications was that the Mauritanian application was vetoed by the Soviet Union and the Outer Mongolian was vetoed by China.

Canada whole-heartedly supported the admission of the 17 new members whose applications had been recommended by the Security Council. The